Basic Yankee Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
Excellent flavor. I'll use a low salt broth next time. Simple, yet flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
This is the first stuffing I've made from scratch. It was very simple and the sausage added an extra zip to it! My family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
This was the first year I got creative with my stuffing for Thanksgiving and all I have to say is there will be no more Stove Top in my house. This recipe waas very tasty and my hubby absolutely adored it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
I made a few changes and it ended up just like my Mom used to make...no chicken broth, 2 rolls of sausage (don't drain) and a stick of butter with the celery and only one onion. And lots of sage and poultry seasoning! The actual stuffing out of the bird was terrific. Cutting the bread in small cubes also helps keep if from being too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
With a few variations, this has been my family's stuffing recipe for three generations. We use a stick of butter and six onions, slowly sauteeing the celery and onions until very soft. Add eight cups of cubed bread that you've left sit out overnight. Moisten with turkey broth. The stuffing should be a bit on the "mushy" side, but not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I'm not a fan of bread stuffing, so I can't really judge this one myself, but my partner thought it was really good. Here are the changes that I made: I didn't use all of the bread because 2 loaves was quite a bit too much, I dried the bread out fairly well and toasted it a bit in the oven, and I used vegetarian sausage (I refuse to cook or eat meat) and that turned out very well. Thanks!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Thank you for this recipe! I was nervous about straying from my mother's recipe for stuffing but I am happy I tried this. This will be MY new tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This stuffing was good, I received many compliments. It was the first time that I had made stuffing from scratch and it turned out very well. The sausage gave it extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
Excellent recipe. I made Thanksgiving dinner for the first time last year and chose this recipe. Everybody raved about it! I'll be making it again this year and from now on. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This was my first year cooking for Thanksgiving and I was very stressed. This receipe was so easy and tasted great. My Mother-in-Law doesn't eat sausage and she loved it (she even took some home). I didn't stuff it in my turkey and it still came out great. I put it in the oven for about one hour at 350. I also added a little more chicken broth half way through cooking. Thank you Kimberly and Mother-in-Law, I will be using this receipe forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States