Basic Yankee Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This recipe is a good, basic stuffing recipe - good for those that may be preparing stuffing for the first time. I used this as my base recipe, but like many reviewers, I made my own changes. I use a bit more sage, a bit more celery, pecans, diced apple, and mushrooms in ours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holley Collins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This turned out wonderful! I would recommend tearing the bread into pieces and leaving it on the counter on waxed paper the night before. The first time we made this we just left the bag open overnight and the bread was way too soft and we got mushy stuffing. The second time we cut the bread into small cubes, covered the kitchen island with waxed paper and left the bread out overnight uncovered and it was perfect! We did two loaves of white bread and one of wheat and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I usually do not enjoy stuffing - AT ALL - but this one is good! I didn't drain the sausage and added a little more chicken broth for moisture. My family keeps asking for it at during the holidays! A simple and 'traditional' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M&M in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I LOVE this! It's a hearty dish that will make your tummy very happy! I don't use white bread; I buy a loaf of day-old french bread and tear it up into chunks. Works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Bethany Beach, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I have been using this stuffing for three years now. What can I say, I never have left overs...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was great! I made it twice. First time I cut the bread up to big, and it wasn't quite right. The flavor was good but the appearance was not. Second time around I made the cuts smaller and it was perfect. This was a great change for us in the south. Our stuffings are usually seafood or cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Luling, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This was the first time I made stuffing from scratch. I loved it from the bird. It needs a lot more liquid to cook in a separate dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Very good stuffing. Some family members weren't crazy about the sausage but most of us really liked it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
First time making homemade stuffing, we'll never go back to store bought! Very easy to make. A bit salty so we didn't add it the second time around...I think the sausage makes it salty enough. We also added more chix broth since it came out a bit dry the first time. Second time around was perfect, so yummy!! Family enjoyed it! Kimberly, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This is an awesome stuffing recipe and I've been using this for a while now. I season the sausage with sage as it's cooking and also add shredded carrots to the mix. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States