Basic Yankee Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
The recipe was basically okay, but it needed an additional egg and a full 14.5 ounce can of broth --- otherwise it would have been horribly dry (unless you cooked it in the turkey). The lack of seasoning made for a somewhat bland stuffing, it definitely needs more flavor. I will make a very modified version of this from now on, but it was a good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This is absolutely, without a doubt, 100% delicious! My entire family loves it and it's so easy to make. It makes alot, but there's still never any left in my house. Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Great dish! I used the Jimmy Dean sausage with Sage and after browning the sausage I removed it from the pan and then added the butter to the sausage drippings to cook the celery and onion mixture. I increased the sage to my personal preference and like other reviewers also added in some poultry seasoning. I also added in some garlic powder and parsley. I had halved the recipe because I was only serving 4 people, but still ended up using the full cup of chicken broth as I prefer a very wet, moist stuffing. I made this along side a roasted chicken so I only baked it for approximately 20 minutes at 350 degrees. I have always used Stove Top from the box for my stuffing but NEVER AGAIN! This is my new stuffing recipe and I can't wait to serve it to the family at Thanksgiving this year. I may even try it with turkey sausage the next time to cut down on some of the calories and fat. Thank you so much for sharing - a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This is good, but only because I added a bunch of seasonings and more chicken broth. As the recipe is would NOT be good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Terrific stuffing. I gave it four starts only because I modified it by adding raisins plumped in stock and subbing Trader Joe's 21 Seasoning Salute (killer on everything) for the sage mix. It needed a little more stock for our taste, too, but we like a wetter stuffing. This will be my go-to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I used to use Box stuffing and made this for the first time last year. Everyone raved about it. I've already started prepping for this year. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I've cooked this two Thanksgivings in a row and most agree that it is the best stuffing/dressing they've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bheinatz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Made this stuffing for Christmas and it was good but I needed to add more salt and spices. Otherwise, it is a very good stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Ceh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Caboolture, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This stuffing is the best. When used with 'Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way', both will be enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
this was an awesome recipe. i used it for thanksgiving ..gave it a chance..it was a big hit with my family..they usually so traditional ..really good left over too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States