Basic Yankee Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
With a few variations, this has been my family's stuffing recipe for three generations. We use a stick of butter and six onions, slowly sauteeing the celery and onions until very soft. Add eight cups of cubed bread that you've left sit out overnight. Moisten with turkey broth. The stuffing should be a bit on the "mushy" side, but not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
I made a few changes and it ended up just like my Mom used to make...no chicken broth, 2 rolls of sausage (don't drain) and a stick of butter with the celery and only one onion. And lots of sage and poultry seasoning! The actual stuffing out of the bird was terrific. Cutting the bread in small cubes also helps keep if from being too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This was my first year cooking for Thanksgiving and I was very stressed. This receipe was so easy and tasted great. My Mother-in-Law doesn't eat sausage and she loved it (she even took some home). I didn't stuff it in my turkey and it still came out great. I put it in the oven for about one hour at 350. I also added a little more chicken broth half way through cooking. Thank you Kimberly and Mother-in-Law, I will be using this receipe forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Great recipe, same as my mom made my whole life. This is the stuffing that makes it feel like thanksgiving. We do make it a bit different: We use 2 packages of jimmy dean (regular) sausage, (do not drain) 1 stick butter, 6 stalks of celery, two med onions, 1 1/2 to 2 packages of bread (depending on size). Poultry seasoning, sage, and pepper to taste. (no salt as sausage is salty enough) Two eggs and 1/4 cup milk. For the broth we boil the neck, liver, gizzard and heart with 4-6 bouilion cubes. (makes a great stock). Cook in a Oven safe dish for approximately 30 min, 350 degrees, Make sure stuffing reaches 165 degrees. If you stuff the bird see internet for temp. regulations for health reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Woohooooooo! Another great recipe keeper. We just had our Thanksgiving Dinner yesterday and this stuffing was awesome. I made it in a pan and placed it in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes as we deep fried the turkey. My husband was amazed. Thanks Kimberly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEEPERLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I really liked this, I thought it had good flavor.I am going to use this as my recipe from now on. I froze the bread first and then sliced it frozen into cubes with a serrated knife. Very easy. Let the bread sit out overnight, tossed it to get it stale. Like the cubes in the bags but much cheaper--Use any old cheap sandwich bread. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Great dish! I used the Jimmy Dean sausage with Sage and after browning the sausage I removed it from the pan and then added the butter to the sausage drippings to cook the celery and onion mixture. I increased the sage to my personal preference and like other reviewers also added in some poultry seasoning. I also added in some garlic powder and parsley. I had halved the recipe because I was only serving 4 people, but still ended up using the full cup of chicken broth as I prefer a very wet, moist stuffing. I made this along side a roasted chicken so I only baked it for approximately 20 minutes at 350 degrees. I have always used Stove Top from the box for my stuffing but NEVER AGAIN! This is my new stuffing recipe and I can't wait to serve it to the family at Thanksgiving this year. I may even try it with turkey sausage the next time to cut down on some of the calories and fat. Thank you so much for sharing - a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I've tried alot of stuffing recipes and this one absolutely blows them all out of the water. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
very delicious, relatively easy to make. I added 3/4 tsp. salt, and it was a tad on the salty side, I'd go 1/4 - 1/2 tsp. depending on how salty you like your food. Also, by some weird fluke, I had no chicken broth in my house, so I used a can of condensed chicken and rice(just the broth) and added enough water to make 1 cup. And still this was wonderful, even with my oops of no chicken broth. I cooked this in a cassarole dish for about 1/2 an hour. Delicious!! a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
Excellent flavor. I'll use a low salt broth next time. Simple, yet flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States