Basic White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This was a easy to make white sauce and I just added some cheese and it was wonderful! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
this recipe is just great the way it is! I made the best scalloped potatoes and ham for dinner delicous, Thanks for sharing.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma june

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I did not like this sauce at all. It was one of the worst pasta sauces I have ever eaten. It did not have much flavor and it was not creamy in the way most sauces are. I give it no stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I doubled the recipe exactly as written. It was good, but I added a little shredded parmesan cheese later. Turned out pretty good, but I think there was too much flour because I had to add quite a bit of additional milk to thin it out. Even still, once it cooled, it turned into a very thick, sticky sauce (hence, just 2 stars).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Very good basic recipe. I doubled it and added ground beef, saluted fresh mushrooms, garlic, onion, and parsley. Served over skin-on mashed red potatoes. You can thicken or thin sauce based on your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
this sauce was great i added some cheese whiz and some grated marble cheese with some cayenne mixed in with peas and carrots, would be great with any vegetable. couldnt find my garlic poder at the time but it would be a nice touch too. If you just add some parmesan cheese and garlic to the basic white sauce then you have alfredo sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was the perfect, easy sauce I was looking for. I used it for a carrot, cauliflower and broccoli vegetable dish. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newtnest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
A definite classic that's the perfect base for just about anything. Just add based on personal taste and preference (or what you have in the kitchen at the time)......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Really good and easy to make. little more seasoning to your likening and good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMLKOVE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Of course this recipe deserves five stars; it's the basic white sauce recipe that can be found in virtually every cookbook in America. If you add a little nutmeg, then it's your basic Bechamel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burnt Toast
Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Affton, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States