Basic White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
This recipe makes a nice dense compact texture. The flavor is great, especially right out of the oven and makes good toast. I let the bread machine to the work thru the 2nd rise, then I shape it, place it in 9X5 pan and bake at 375 degrees for 30-35 minutes. Yummy. Thanks Heather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Yummy bread recipe my husband and my 1 year devored this in almost one setting.... I do not like to use sugar, so I used two tablespoons of honey instead of a 1 tablespoon of sugar.... ANd it was fluffy,soft and oh so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAVAGEFREEDOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
after I mix the sugar, yeast and water, I place it in my sink w/water of the same temp for the 10 minutes. My yeast activates much better this way and the bread is always perfect! Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This turned out nicely in appearance, but I didn't like the taste or the heavy texture. For those using yeast in the jar, the equivalent is 2-1/4 tsp, or check the fine print on your jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2000
For my first bread machine experience this recipe was very easy and most important the family loved it. I did bake it in the oven and not in the ABM, I controlled the color and texture of the crust better in the oven. Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
Very easy to make. I made this several times and it keeps falling in the middle when it bakes. Not sure what I'm doing wrong, but it still bakes really nice and tastes good. Always soft in the middle and works really well for sandwiches. I'll get that falling thing fixed one of these times! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hospers, Iowa, USA
Living In: Maurice, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is a good, simple, everyday white bread. I reduced the sugar to 1-1/2 tsp. as my bread machine has a tendency to make the bread overrise, and I used 1-1/2 tsp. of bread machine yeast. I liked the addition of the dry milk powder which contributes softness and helps keep the bread fresh. I also like that this recipe does not call for a lot of butter or oil. I chose the basic white setting with the medium crust. Very versatile, basic bread for sandwiches or toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
This recipe is fantastic. I used Hodgson Mill 50/50 blended bread flour(wheat&white), which I warmed in the oven while I got the bread machine out and the other ingredients ready. (I also had to substitute fresh milk into the water quantity.) The recipe made 12 delicious rolls that I baked on my pizza stone preheated in the oven. I will definitely be using this recipe again. Thank-you Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
My Husband and I loved this bread...quick and easy and has a great taste...This will be a great addition to our dinner menu... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Hi, I have used this recipe quite a few times. In fact, i have it going right now in the bread maker. Often I will add 2 tbsp "Pesto" from Epicure Selections to the recipe ~ very nice with pasta!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States