Basic Vegetable Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I freeze vegetable stock in ice cube trays and store the cubes in glass jars in my freezer. It makes it really easy to grab just what I need for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I make this often and freeze portions in ziplock bags. It makes a big difference to use home made stock in soups, sauces, and gravies. If I don't have the green onions, I leave them out. Leeks are a nice addition, to. As is, this is pretty much the perfect standard vegetable stock good cooks and chefs use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is a wonderful base. I use it all the time. I started saving my old veggie cuts as one reviewer suggested. Sometimes I make veggie stock, other times I boil carcasses; just depends. You can't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Keep the veggies and blend them up. They will help thicken your soup and give great flavor. Take the broth and pour them into ice tray and freeze that also to have some for later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Simple but great base stock to have on hand in freezer. I made an enormous quantity to use as base for several soups and stews. I also froze several ice cube trays as other reviewers suggested and I really like having the cubes to drop in a sauce or gravy rather than water or commercial broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MooninAries Awakening

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I love this recipe because it uses common vegetables. I use organic, make a big batch and freeze it in canning jars. This is the best recipe for veggie broth I have tried. Thanks Stan for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is an easy, great vegetarian stock recipe! I didn't have the fresh thyme so I subbed Italian seasoning, other than that I stuck to the basic recipe and it worked out great. I used a rather larger pot than needed as another reviewer did so the oil/garlic burned a little on the bottom of my pot and but it still worked out OK and the stock is way better than any store bought I've tasted. This will be a great recipe to tweak depending on available ingredients. I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netzel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I added two corn cobs(corn cut off and added as well) and fennel. It's amazing by itself! I'm using this for a gumbo, but I'm going to keep the veggies. Why not put them in a blender or processor? I can discard the cobs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
After simmering, I threw the veggies in the blender with a few ladles of the stock. Blend until smooth (you can adjust how much stock you use depending on how thick you want the soup). After blending, I added another ladle of the whole veggies to give it some chunks as well as some cooked pasta. You could add some beans or lentils as well for protein. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
The veggie stock came out so flavorful and yummy.I can't wait to use it for my vegan soups. thanks for a great recipe that will save me lots of money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza Dore

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States