Basic Vegetable Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I started of with this recipe but used zuchini and corn kernels as they were the only vegetables. But sincethe corn kernels did not mash up decided to grind it. Since it was hot it blew up so finally had to have it as zuchini and corn soup but it tasted good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Amazing! Thank you for this recipe! I used a combination of fresh with frozen peppers & pearl onions etc.. the combinations are endless, add tomatoes or paste for a different base. A tip - if you only have dried herbs, the rule of thumb is use three time less dried then fresh. If it calls for 1 tbsp fresh, use about 1 tsp dried. I tripled this recipe so I have more for next time I need it. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Awesome recipe! I added cabbage and it was perfect !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa A Strevig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I freeze vegetable stock in ice cube trays and store the cubes in glass jars in my freezer. It makes it really easy to grab just what I need for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I make this often and freeze portions in ziplock bags. It makes a big difference to use home made stock in soups, sauces, and gravies. If I don't have the green onions, I leave them out. Leeks are a nice addition, to. As is, this is pretty much the perfect standard vegetable stock good cooks and chefs use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is a wonderful base. I use it all the time. I started saving my old veggie cuts as one reviewer suggested. Sometimes I make veggie stock, other times I boil carcasses; just depends. You can't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Keep the veggies and blend them up. They will help thicken your soup and give great flavor. Take the broth and pour them into ice tray and freeze that also to have some for later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Simple but great base stock to have on hand in freezer. I made an enormous quantity to use as base for several soups and stews. I also froze several ice cube trays as other reviewers suggested and I really like having the cubes to drop in a sauce or gravy rather than water or commercial broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MooninAries Awakening

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I love this recipe because it uses common vegetables. I use organic, make a big batch and freeze it in canning jars. This is the best recipe for veggie broth I have tried. Thanks Stan for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is an easy, great vegetarian stock recipe! I didn't have the fresh thyme so I subbed Italian seasoning, other than that I stuck to the basic recipe and it worked out great. I used a rather larger pot than needed as another reviewer did so the oil/garlic burned a little on the bottom of my pot and but it still worked out OK and the stock is way better than any store bought I've tasted. This will be a great recipe to tweak depending on available ingredients. I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netzel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States