Basic Vegetable Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe. I love soup in the winter. Typically, I buy vegetarian soups in the can with low salt, however they are not as good as home made soup. Then I found this recipe! I make a big pot of this to use as stock, put it in the frig.,then throughout the week as I use it add different vegetables to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Great recipe! The stock came out delicious. I like being able to make our own, it's fresher, more nutritious and no fat or salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Works for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
this is a great vegetable stock, and is helpful in cutting back on food waste by using what you have on hand. i used extra herbs in place of the salt for a no sodium broth with all the flavor. my only suggestion is - DO NOT TOSS THE VEGGIES - these can be used in healthy smoothies by using approxamatly 1/2 cup cooked veggies with 1 cup liquid of choice, i prefer a mild juice like apple or pear to add a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This is so perfect for getting rid of leftover vegetables. So easy and versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Great use for extra veges! These are easy "secrets" that help enhance recipes naturally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
HEY..this is super easy and sooooooo inexpensive stock. I started freezing when asparagus came in spring..everything..tomato peelings, leftover potatoes, used limp celery,tips of okra, leftover peas..you name it..hey, Stan, I GOT IT~SMART AND THRIFTY, plus delicious. I doubled the water and seasonings and threw in the last herbs-rain has stopped a lot of our gardening this year, here in MS. Please try this..you'll have your very own stock for the winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosebud434

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Excellent basic veggie stock. I use it as the base for a number of vegetarian dishes. I also use it as a substitute for water in some recipes. Freeze it in 2 cup portions and use it to make super quick soups on the fly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superkarynfragilistic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Great! I was able to make this on a whim because i actually had the ingredients in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Fabulous vegetable stock. Fortunately, in Warsaw, we can buy pre packaged vegetables for stock, so I just threw in celery root, parsnips, and leeks in addition to the recipe. It turned out to be a very aromatic stock which was fabulous for the risotto I was making. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States