Basic Vegetable Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Made mine totally organic with the exception of the bay leaves. I didn't have any regular onions but did use a huge bunch of green onions. I also used 1 t dried thyme, 1 t dried parsely and sea salt. Worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I never thought of making my own stock until I came across this recipe, and I am so glad I did! I add a bigger variety of veggies than this recipe calls for and cook it much longer (about 2 hours) and it comes out great! I followed the advice of another reviewer and freeze veggie scraps for a couple months, then throw them into the broth. Awesome for making quick soups. I am cooking some right now and will freeze it into ice cube trays! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Great! I was able to make this on a whim because i actually had the ingredients in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Great use for extra veges! These are easy "secrets" that help enhance recipes naturally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
HEY..this is super easy and sooooooo inexpensive stock. I started freezing when asparagus came in spring..everything..tomato peelings, leftover potatoes, used limp celery,tips of okra, leftover peas..you name it..hey, Stan, I GOT IT~SMART AND THRIFTY, plus delicious. I doubled the water and seasonings and threw in the last herbs-rain has stopped a lot of our gardening this year, here in MS. Please try this..you'll have your very own stock for the winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosebud434

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Fabulous vegetable stock. Fortunately, in Warsaw, we can buy pre packaged vegetables for stock, so I just threw in celery root, parsnips, and leeks in addition to the recipe. It turned out to be a very aromatic stock which was fabulous for the risotto I was making. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Excellent basic veggie stock. I use it as the base for a number of vegetarian dishes. I also use it as a substitute for water in some recipes. Freeze it in 2 cup portions and use it to make super quick soups on the fly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superkarynfragilistic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This is so perfect for getting rid of leftover vegetables. So easy and versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Works for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe. I love soup in the winter. Typically, I buy vegetarian soups in the can with low salt, however they are not as good as home made soup. Then I found this recipe! I make a big pot of this to use as stock, put it in the frig.,then throughout the week as I use it add different vegetables to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States