Basic Vegetable Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I keep a gallon zip loc bag in my freezer and add trimmings from fresh veggies as I slice and dice along with small bits of leftovers. When it's full, I dump it in the water with seasoning and simmer for a couple of hours then freeze in canning jars. That way, I always have fresh stock available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gadget_Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA
Living In: Crawford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Great recipe. Easy to do, and I love being able to use up my veggie "odds and ends" for something great. I had been making a lot of soups and buying veg stock, but now I'm making my own stock at almost no cost. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is a great basic vegetable stock recipe. I will be using this whenever I need stock and don't have chicken stock on hand(which I will admit I generally prefer). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This turned out pretty good - in fact there's still some in the freezer. I've been using it here and there. We like to use stocks and broths when we make rice or in place of wine or extra oil in some dishes. I added a red pepper that wasn't too fresh anymore but didn't want to throw out yet. I also added some peppercorns while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodFun-GlutenFree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ballston Spa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Very simple, easy to make, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Originally I just made this because the supermarket close to me doesn't sell vegetarian broth (what year is this again? :rolls eyes:) anyways it's amazing I make this and keep in the freezer... who needs broth from the store?? not me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This is great! I threw in all of the veggies I didn't end up eating by the end of the week. I love that it allows me to not waste food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Been doing this for years. Except I toss the veggies with olive oil & roast at 400 for 1 hour. [Roasting brings out more flavor] Turning every 15 min. Then I simmer for an hour or more. I keep a bag in the freezer and just keep filling it with cut offs and peelings. This also includes onion & garlic skin. They're full of flavor. I don't save the outer leaves of the celery. Too bitter. Stock never tastes the same but it's always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Made mine totally organic with the exception of the bay leaves. I didn't have any regular onions but did use a huge bunch of green onions. I also used 1 t dried thyme, 1 t dried parsely and sea salt. Worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I never thought of making my own stock until I came across this recipe, and I am so glad I did! I add a bigger variety of veggies than this recipe calls for and cook it much longer (about 2 hours) and it comes out great! I followed the advice of another reviewer and freeze veggie scraps for a couple months, then throw them into the broth. Awesome for making quick soups. I am cooking some right now and will freeze it into ice cube trays! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States