Basic Vegetable Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Simple but great base stock to have on hand in freezer. I made an enormous quantity to use as base for several soups and stews. I also froze several ice cube trays as other reviewers suggested and I really like having the cubes to drop in a sauce or gravy rather than water or commercial broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MooninAries Awakening

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I love this recipe because it uses common vegetables. I use organic, make a big batch and freeze it in canning jars. This is the best recipe for veggie broth I have tried. Thanks Stan for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is an easy, great vegetarian stock recipe! I didn't have the fresh thyme so I subbed Italian seasoning, other than that I stuck to the basic recipe and it worked out great. I used a rather larger pot than needed as another reviewer did so the oil/garlic burned a little on the bottom of my pot and but it still worked out OK and the stock is way better than any store bought I've tasted. This will be a great recipe to tweak depending on available ingredients. I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netzel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I added two corn cobs(corn cut off and added as well) and fennel. It's amazing by itself! I'm using this for a gumbo, but I'm going to keep the veggies. Why not put them in a blender or processor? I can discard the cobs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
After simmering, I threw the veggies in the blender with a few ladles of the stock. Blend until smooth (you can adjust how much stock you use depending on how thick you want the soup). After blending, I added another ladle of the whole veggies to give it some chunks as well as some cooked pasta. You could add some beans or lentils as well for protein. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
The veggie stock came out so flavorful and yummy.I can't wait to use it for my vegan soups. thanks for a great recipe that will save me lots of money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
wish I'd know about this years ago. I could of saved so much money than buying all of those cans or avoid all the added salt with those cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This was soo easy to do, 1st time I've made my own vegetable stock...lord where was this recipe years ago....I could have been doing this all this time...but no, I'd buy the box...not any more. I'm glad the submitter wrote extra notes about using other veggies for different vegetable stock options. I will so keep this from now on. TY I used this recipe as part of my dinner, and it worked soo well in the split pea soup I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Good recipe! I will use this as my go to stock recipe. My family tends to have old vegetables in our fridge and now i now what to do with it. It looks exactly like and tastes like store bought! This is a recipe you can experiment with which i like. I did add some ginger and mushrooms to my stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Made it on thanksgiving when I ran out of stock. it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States