Basic Vegetable Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I didn't have celery, but I did add some yellow squash from the garden that was past its prime and it turned out wonderful! I've already used it as a base for cream of mushroom soup. So full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Liquid Gold!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This stock is greatness. I used carrots, zucchini, celery, mushrooms, onions, broccoli and jarred garlic. I tossed the veggies with olive oil and the garlic and then spread them on a baking pan to roast for a full hour at 400F. Then added them to the water and finished the recipe according to directions. My culinary school graduate fiancé was amazed at the depth of flavour. I poured the stock into ice cube trays and stored them in a tupperware container once frozen. Now when we need stock we just take out a few cubes and Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I started of with this recipe but used zuchini and corn kernels as they were the only vegetables. But sincethe corn kernels did not mash up decided to grind it. Since it was hot it blew up so finally had to have it as zuchini and corn soup but it tasted good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Amazing! Thank you for this recipe! I used a combination of fresh with frozen peppers & pearl onions etc.. the combinations are endless, add tomatoes or paste for a different base. A tip - if you only have dried herbs, the rule of thumb is use three time less dried then fresh. If it calls for 1 tbsp fresh, use about 1 tsp dried. I tripled this recipe so I have more for next time I need it. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Awesome recipe! I added cabbage and it was perfect !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa A Strevig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I freeze vegetable stock in ice cube trays and store the cubes in glass jars in my freezer. It makes it really easy to grab just what I need for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I make this often and freeze portions in ziplock bags. It makes a big difference to use home made stock in soups, sauces, and gravies. If I don't have the green onions, I leave them out. Leeks are a nice addition, to. As is, this is pretty much the perfect standard vegetable stock good cooks and chefs use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is a wonderful base. I use it all the time. I started saving my old veggie cuts as one reviewer suggested. Sometimes I make veggie stock, other times I boil carcasses; just depends. You can't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Keep the veggies and blend them up. They will help thicken your soup and give great flavor. Take the broth and pour them into ice tray and freeze that also to have some for later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States