Basic Vegetable Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Great recipe. I had some tired looking veggies so I just used those. In addition to the listed veggies, I had zucchini, yellow squash and red bell pepper. I also roasted everything per other reviewers. I pressure canned it in quart containers. So now I have shelf stable veggie stock. Thanks for this great recipe. I never thought to can vegetable stock before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I stole the idea of saving veggie scraps from one of the reviews and roasting the veggies from another, the results are wonderful! Smells so good while it's cooking, you can't wait to make something with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I brined 2 turkeys this year: one with this stock and one without. The difference was noticeable and I will always use this recipe as my vegetable stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I didn't have celery, but I did add some yellow squash from the garden that was past its prime and it turned out wonderful! I've already used it as a base for cream of mushroom soup. So full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Liquid Gold!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This stock is greatness. I used carrots, zucchini, celery, mushrooms, onions, broccoli and jarred garlic. I tossed the veggies with olive oil and the garlic and then spread them on a baking pan to roast for a full hour at 400F. Then added them to the water and finished the recipe according to directions. My culinary school graduate fiancé was amazed at the depth of flavour. I poured the stock into ice cube trays and stored them in a tupperware container once frozen. Now when we need stock we just take out a few cubes and Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I started of with this recipe but used zuchini and corn kernels as they were the only vegetables. But sincethe corn kernels did not mash up decided to grind it. Since it was hot it blew up so finally had to have it as zuchini and corn soup but it tasted good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Amazing! Thank you for this recipe! I used a combination of fresh with frozen peppers & pearl onions etc.. the combinations are endless, add tomatoes or paste for a different base. A tip - if you only have dried herbs, the rule of thumb is use three time less dried then fresh. If it calls for 1 tbsp fresh, use about 1 tsp dried. I tripled this recipe so I have more for next time I need it. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Awesome recipe! I added cabbage and it was perfect !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa A Strevig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I freeze vegetable stock in ice cube trays and store the cubes in glass jars in my freezer. It makes it really easy to grab just what I need for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States