Basic Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This was my method: I used 1 & 1/4 cup or so Ghirardelli semi-sweet chips, 2/3 cup heavy cream, 2 tbsp unsalted butter, and the vanilla. I made several flavors but quite a few people concurred that the vanilla/peppermint was the best. I rolled them in powdered sugar, rather than attempting to coat them with a shell (impossible for me!) Freezing the blobby little melon-baller scoopings for a half hour and rolling with my hands after that was the only way they came anywhere close to attractive. I gave them to tons of family this Christmas and everyone loved them. (My brother in law especially, he must have asked at least 4 times if I was absolutely sure they were all gone- I think he searched my fridge for good measure just in case I was holding out!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This recipe is definately the best their is. It is true to its words.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
This is a great basic recipe. Anyone that complains about the taste of the chocolate is overlooking one HUGE point: If you start out with cheap chocolate you will get a truffle that tastes like cheap chocolate, or just doesn't work. A higher quality chocolate will yield a better truffle. Also, the less actual chocolate in the chips the more problems you will have getting them to the right consistancy. One more point-If you don't care for bitter sweet chocolate, don't use it. That's why there are so many varieties in the baking section. I recommend Guittard, in my mind the best you can buy before Godiva. Ghriradelli is good as well, but the Guittard has a richer, more European taste (since it is). They cost a bit more, but you won't believe what you'd get! Much cheaper than Godiva! PS- I apologize for any spelling errors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Zeigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Simple but delicious! I had no luck with rolling or candy molds, but that's not the fault of the recipe - I'm completely inept when it comes to making food pretty. I bought a "trigger funnel" and dropped chocolate "kisses" instead. I experimented with LOTS of different flavors instead of the vanilla - all got rave reviews in my cookie/candy exchange this Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
i gave these away as christmas gifts to my teachers and now they are paying me to make them from them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
These are so simple to make, although very messy! I topped some with chopped andy's candies and they were very good. I also topped some with pecans and some with walnuts. These were a great hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
WOW! This is easy to make, easy to adapt to different tastes, and very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
Good truffle recipe. I flavored mine with orange extract and a little vanilla too. Mine did not set up as quickly as 1.5 hours, so I let the mixture sit overnight. I formed the truffles, chilled for 1 hour and then dipped in melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Sinful but delicous - kids ask for them every Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSquared1970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Essex, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I think I'm going to have to stick with Godiva. These just tasted like chocolate chips and hardened up too much in the bowl. They didn't mold well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States