Basic Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This recipe is definately the best their is. It is true to its words.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
This is a great basic recipe. Anyone that complains about the taste of the chocolate is overlooking one HUGE point: If you start out with cheap chocolate you will get a truffle that tastes like cheap chocolate, or just doesn't work. A higher quality chocolate will yield a better truffle. Also, the less actual chocolate in the chips the more problems you will have getting them to the right consistancy. One more point-If you don't care for bitter sweet chocolate, don't use it. That's why there are so many varieties in the baking section. I recommend Guittard, in my mind the best you can buy before Godiva. Ghriradelli is good as well, but the Guittard has a richer, more European taste (since it is). They cost a bit more, but you won't believe what you'd get! Much cheaper than Godiva! PS- I apologize for any spelling errors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Zeigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Simple but delicious! I had no luck with rolling or candy molds, but that's not the fault of the recipe - I'm completely inept when it comes to making food pretty. I bought a "trigger funnel" and dropped chocolate "kisses" instead. I experimented with LOTS of different flavors instead of the vanilla - all got rave reviews in my cookie/candy exchange this Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
i gave these away as christmas gifts to my teachers and now they are paying me to make them from them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
These are so simple to make, although very messy! I topped some with chopped andy's candies and they were very good. I also topped some with pecans and some with walnuts. These were a great hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
WOW! This is easy to make, easy to adapt to different tastes, and very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
Good truffle recipe. I flavored mine with orange extract and a little vanilla too. Mine did not set up as quickly as 1.5 hours, so I let the mixture sit overnight. I formed the truffles, chilled for 1 hour and then dipped in melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Sinful but delicous - kids ask for them every Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSquared1970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Essex, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I think I'm going to have to stick with Godiva. These just tasted like chocolate chips and hardened up too much in the bowl. They didn't mold well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
These tasted ok, I suppose, but truffles SHOULD be AWESOME! I felt like they got way too hard too quick - I dunno, maybe I did something wrong, but I doubt it - they were pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOLFECOOKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States