Basic Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I had issues forming these into balls. I ended up rolling them around 2 spoons and they still looked a bit funky. Everyone who tried them did like them, I just didn't like how hard it was to work with the mixture. I might try it again with some tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I've been doing these truffles for years and they are soooo yummy and easy! I use fat free evaporated milk and it wors just as well (you may need a little extra time in the fridge) Also I like to add different liquiors and flavors to it (Khalua, grated orange zest, etc) use a small batch and try it ut :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This recipe works as written. However, it is VERY difficult to work as written, because there isn't enough cream. On this same site, Ghirardelli brand chocolate used 1 full cup cream to the same amount of chocolate (12 ounces chopped = 2 cups). The chocolate centers resulting from this recipe are fairly stiff. They do hold up well at room temperature, and I suspect this recipe would mail very well also. Thanks for the recipe--I will probably use another recipe next time though, one that calls for more cream than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Good basic recipe, but I did find the whole process a little time consuming. This was the first time I have ever made truffles and I was very pleased with the end result. I used Semi sweet chocolate as I don't like bittersweet. Not sure how the recipe makes a yield of 35 as I could only stretch to 12. I tripled the recipe and instead of using vanilla extract, made one batch with mint extract, one with orange extract and the last batch with Bailey's. For the toppings I used various (basically anything I had in the pantry) coconut, chocolate sprinkles, almond sprinkles, toffee sprinkles and for the last I melted down some extra chocolate, dipped the truffle in the chocolate and finished with small walnut on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
real easy and yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This was incredible and so versatile. Had some bittersweet chocolate to use up, and this was perfect. Separated into three batches, flavoring one with vanilla, another with peppermint extract, and the third with rum extract. Rolled in various coatings, including powdered sugar, cocoa powder and chocolate sprinkles. All were great. Let thaw at room temperature about 30 mins before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Pretty good basic recipe. Dusted mine with cocoa powder, didn't notice any bitterness. Would try with different coatings and perhaps liquer in place of the vanilla essence next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I used the flavored creamers (like Creamora Hazelnut) instead of heavy cream as another viewer recommended and it really kicked up the flavor. This is my favorite kind of recipe .... quick, easy and good!! Try it. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCZYZYK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This is a really nice and easy recipe! I divide it into four portions and use 2-3 Tbs of various liquors in each 1/4 portion. It sets much faster, so you need to be ready to roll in about 1 hour. Rum, whiskey, amaretto, Irish cream and hazelnut all work really well. I also dip them in dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Simple, smooth, decadent and EASY. I used dark baker's chocolate, product was wonderful; investing a little more in chocolate would surely be amazing. I added 3 oz. irish cream to one batch and 2 oz. frangelico, in the future I will use at least 3 oz. of liquer. I found it easier to chill over night and then rest at room temp for 30 mins or so before forming into balls. Way better once flavours marry together in the frige for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States