Basic Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This is exactly what it claims to be - a basic truffle recipe - easy to make and easy to adjust to one's tastes. Granted, I am a truffle-making novice, but not new to chocolate dessert making. I will definitely keep this one to use again. After reading several of the reviews that said they were too hard, I added extra liquid flavoring to my first batch. When they turned out way too gooey (though they'd make a delicious filling), I reexamined the recipe. I realized that the Ghirardelli chocolate I'd bought was only 10 oz - not 12, like other brands of the same form. The 2nd batch I made, I went strictly by this recipe, and the consistency was perfect - soft and silky, but not melty or mushy. I don't know if perhaps the type of chocolate others used played a factor in their dryness - or altitude, moisture in the air, etc. But for me, these proportions were a great start. I've tasted truffles that were more light and fluffy, and I'd like to find a recipe for those in the future, but I discovered in my searching that there are many different ways of making truffles - I imagine those are an advanced version (not a "basic").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Do not cook chocolate over an open flame. You should prepare truffles one of two ways. Either over a double broiler or adding hot cream to cold chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
these were awful. way too bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This was super easy (though it got pretty messy for me when it came time to roll the chocolate into balls) and produced great results. I used Ghirardelli dark chocolate and shaped it into 10 larger balls and rolled them in either powdered sugar or cocoa powder, both of which made for delicious truffles. As far as the creaminess goes, these were just what I was looking for. (I also tried making a different truffle recipe on this site that called for about the same amount of chocolate but 2/3 C cream, and thought those were much too creamy and gooey, at least for rolling into balls. They might work better if used as filling inside a harder chocolate.) This recipe, however, was perfect for rolling in toppings. It's also VERY rich. Thanks, Gina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
they were defiantly the consistence I needed, however they were a bit bitter for my tastes,...I will have to try again next year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Modo3000

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is a perfect base recipe for making different flavors of truffles. I made 2 batches in 4 different flavors. They came out perfectly. The first batch I made with semisweet chocolate and 1/2 was coconut coated with toasted coconut flakes and 1/2 was rum coated in crushed Heath toffee bar. The 2nd batch was made with milk chocolate and 1/2 was peppermint rolled with crushed peppermint and 1/2 was vanilla caramel rolled in chopped hazelnuts. They came out perfectly!! This is now my truffle go to recipe. It is perfect because I can change flavors, toppings, and types of chocolate and make a variety of truffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cobb1121

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Antioch, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
These are very good, but my recipe is 1 lb. of semi-sweet chocolate to 1 c. heavy whipping cream, 1 tsp. flavoring of choice, 1 tsp vanilla. They come out smoother and the center is not hard. Don't forget to chill the mix before trying to shape into balls. The mixture will be too soft. So chill for 1/2 to 1 hr., then scoop out of the pan with a melon baller or a cookie scoop. They come out nice and round. Then you can roll in the topping of your choice...nuts, powdered sugar, chopped peppermint candies, etc. NOTE: I have also used assorted coffee creamers for the flavoring added to the cream and it comes out very nicely. You can also add hazelnut flavoring & chopped hazelnuts, then dip in melted chocolate to mimic one of my favorite candies...Ferrero Rocher!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
These are good, and can support any number of variations. I made 4 flavors for Valentine's Day this year: 60% cacao (bittersweet) rolled in cocoa powder, dark chocolate mint (bittersweet chocolate, mint extract) coated in semi-sweet chocolate, milk chocolate coated in semi-sweet, and coffee creme brulee (milk chocolate, creme brulee creamer instead of cream, rum extract instead of vanilla) rolled in instant cafe lattee powder. There were all a pretty big hit. My only issue was they were not QUITE as smooth/creamy as I'd hoped. It may be the quality of the chocolate I used? Or possibly just a bit more cream would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Turned out wonderfully. Make sure you don't leave them in the fridge too long before making them into balls or else it is too stiff to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I was disappointed with this recipe. I was expecting a smooth consistent texture and what I got was quite dry and hard (drier in the center than on the edges for some reason). I used a high quality chocolate chip $$ that I normally do not purchase. I feel that they were wasted on this recipe. I thought the cream would make it -well- creamier. But that does not seem to be the case. I will keep looking for the perfect truffle recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States