Basic Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
they were defiantly the consistence I needed, however they were a bit bitter for my tastes,...I will have to try again next year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Modo3000

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is a perfect base recipe for making different flavors of truffles. I made 2 batches in 4 different flavors. They came out perfectly. The first batch I made with semisweet chocolate and 1/2 was coconut coated with toasted coconut flakes and 1/2 was rum coated in crushed Heath toffee bar. The 2nd batch was made with milk chocolate and 1/2 was peppermint rolled with crushed peppermint and 1/2 was vanilla caramel rolled in chopped hazelnuts. They came out perfectly!! This is now my truffle go to recipe. It is perfect because I can change flavors, toppings, and types of chocolate and make a variety of truffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cobb1121

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Antioch, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
These are very good, but my recipe is 1 lb. of semi-sweet chocolate to 1 c. heavy whipping cream, 1 tsp. flavoring of choice, 1 tsp vanilla. They come out smoother and the center is not hard. Don't forget to chill the mix before trying to shape into balls. The mixture will be too soft. So chill for 1/2 to 1 hr., then scoop out of the pan with a melon baller or a cookie scoop. They come out nice and round. Then you can roll in the topping of your choice...nuts, powdered sugar, chopped peppermint candies, etc. NOTE: I have also used assorted coffee creamers for the flavoring added to the cream and it comes out very nicely. You can also add hazelnut flavoring & chopped hazelnuts, then dip in melted chocolate to mimic one of my favorite candies...Ferrero Rocher!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
These are good, and can support any number of variations. I made 4 flavors for Valentine's Day this year: 60% cacao (bittersweet) rolled in cocoa powder, dark chocolate mint (bittersweet chocolate, mint extract) coated in semi-sweet chocolate, milk chocolate coated in semi-sweet, and coffee creme brulee (milk chocolate, creme brulee creamer instead of cream, rum extract instead of vanilla) rolled in instant cafe lattee powder. There were all a pretty big hit. My only issue was they were not QUITE as smooth/creamy as I'd hoped. It may be the quality of the chocolate I used? Or possibly just a bit more cream would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Turned out wonderfully. Make sure you don't leave them in the fridge too long before making them into balls or else it is too stiff to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I was disappointed with this recipe. I was expecting a smooth consistent texture and what I got was quite dry and hard (drier in the center than on the edges for some reason). I used a high quality chocolate chip $$ that I normally do not purchase. I feel that they were wasted on this recipe. I thought the cream would make it -well- creamier. But that does not seem to be the case. I will keep looking for the perfect truffle recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I have never made truffles before...so this recipe would be great for a beginner or anyone who is on a bit of a time crunch. Add whatever flavour you want with this recipe...I did two batches..I took the advice of one reviewer and added 3 Tbsp of Kahlua to one..which didn't have a kahlua taste to it at all. I also added some mint extract...very nice. Will make this recipe again, I suggest to anyone trying for the first time to freeze the mix before you roll..it's very messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaT-bird34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I tried these and they were so bitter I couldn't eat them.I think maybe next time I try I will use milk chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nbehymer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beardstown, Illinois, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I am no expert at making candy, in fact this was the first time I ever attempted it. It was so easy to make these, and it took me about 4 hours to make 200. I made 6 different varieties, and they were all great. I made the regular recipe, coconut with coconut extract instead of vanilla and rolled in toasted coconut, mint made with mint extract and rolled in crushed peppermint candies, almond made with vanilla extract but with toasted almonds in the chocolate and rolled in raw crushed almonds, raspberry vanilla (this variety required 1 tsp vanilla and almost 2 tsp raspberry extract), and mocha, which I made by blending some flavored coffee powder into the chocolate mixture and rolling in a blend of the coffee and cocoa powder. A few hints: save yourself some grief and buy a chopper (I used mine for the chocolate, candies, and nuts). Have the chocolate, cream, and extract ready before you begin melting the chocolate. It is easiest to roll and cover the chocolate if you wait until the chocolate has set firm. Then scoop the chocolate, warm it in your hands, and roll into ball. Also, I was very concerned it would be difficult to get the toppings to stick- it was actually very easy for them to stick. I hope this review helps. It was actually kind of relaxing to make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I used semi-sweet chocolate and 2 tsp. peppermint extract then rolled in crushed candy canes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States