Basic Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
i thank you for this recipe it was easy to make and i served them to many people at grill out i rolled carmel in them and everyone seemed to like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
These are delicious! For half of the chocolate I used plain milk chocolate button melts and the other half was Lindt 70% cocoa chocolate. Very rich and not too bitter as the 70% cocoa chocolate is by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This is a very good starter recipe! I used Ghiradelli bittersweet chips and added just a touch more cream the called for. I did expresso/coffee truffles, grinding up coffee beans VERY finely and used about 3 teaspoons for the whole batch. I refrigerated them for a bit before scooping them out and shaping into balls. I chilled them again before double-dipping them in chocolate and added a whole coffee bean on top of each. Definitely a keeper for simple they are to make, next time I'll try grinding up coconut and adding coconut and rum extracts and rolling it in coconut for a tropical twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roweena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Good recipie but this is acutally considered the ganache. For those who are more serious, be careful about burning the chocolate so using a double boiler is suggested even though it takes more time. Also, be careful with adding flavors because chocolate can seize when liquid is added (this is basically the rapid cooling of the chocolate when something like a flavoring is added). Once chocolate seizes it is pretty much ruined/useless except for hot chocolate. So good luck with all of your indulgences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Excellent, but extraordinarily time-consuming. I created a batch using the recommended amount of whipping cream and it turned out really well. I also tried using the amount suggested by another reviewer (quite a bit more) and the batch did not turn out. I froze the chocolate/whipping cream mixture and it still melted easily when dipped in chocolate. I couldn't even coat it with chocolate. I would stick to the original recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
These were delicious! Time-consuming, but incredibly good! After coating them in the melted chocolate, I rolled some in toasted coconut, some in pecans & powdered sugar. The powdered sugar was absorbed by the chocolate, though, so I wouldn't recommend that. Thank you Gina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I make these all of the time for events, and they are sooooo decadent! I roll in cocoa powder and the initial bitter bite gives way to the richness of the truffle! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Potsdam, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
These were just ok. After reading previous reviews I added more cream and also added ammaretto to half and baileys to the other half. I also used the good stuff, Guittard chocolate from williams Sonoma. They were nothing too exciting, and I've definately had much better. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Try this, go with 1/2 pound of milk chocolate, 1/2 pound of semi-sweet chocolate all chopped up into small pieces. Heat 1/2 cup of heavy cream to an almost boiling. Pour the heated cream over the chocolate and stir to melt. Add 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tbsp of hot coffee. Let that set then roll in desired coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Good and easy base for truffles. Have made Kahlua, Cointreau, Macadamia, White chocolate and almond so far. It's terrible though I have to keep on trying them to see which is the best....life is tough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosichops

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States