Basic Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I used semi-sweet chocolate and 2 tsp. peppermint extract then rolled in crushed candy canes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I had some couponing awesomeness yesterday which meant I had a bunch of chocolate chips and heavy cream that I got for cheap. This was perfect for what I needed. I actually used dark chocolate, but other than that I followed the recipe exact. I rolled half in chopped peanuts and the other half in powdered sugar. My boys flipped for these and it was a great inside-snowy-Winter-day project. REALLY fun. I'd like to try these again with white chocolate, peppermint extract and crushed candy canes. You could really go crazy with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Good but not creamy enough. I rolled in cocoa powder but that wasn't a very good taste for me. That was my fault though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I have only done a trial run with these truffles, so i cut down the recipe and used what i had so it wasn't top quality chocolate, and i only had half and half. They didn't set as firmly over night but the taste was still yummy and rich and creamy. I added maple extract and WOW WOW WOW I think with higher quality chocolate and using real heavy cream, in the proper quantities, they will come out more amazingly. I have incredible chocolate, Sirius Icelandic 56% Bitter Sweet Chocolate. It's amazing alone. Can't wait to use it for truffles. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterbean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
These truffles were magnificent! They were also incredibly easy to make...I made two batches of these. I used the vanilla and semisweet baking chocolate for the first batch, rolled them in cocoa, and they were awesome! The second batch I used 1/2 tsp. mint extract instead of the vanilla, and used some 70% cacao Ghirardelli chocolate...these were absolutely amazing! Intensely bittersweet with a nice touch of mint...wow. I will definitely be making these again! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
My regular truffle recipe includes cream cheese. Thought I would try this recipe on the quick because did not have cream cheese handy and was extremely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Awesome! I used white chocolate chips then chilled overnight. Next morning I formed them into small balls and chilled again while I melted butterscotch chips, then dipped in the butterscotch and set at room temp. Wicked rich, but absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I had issues forming these into balls. I ended up rolling them around 2 spoons and they still looked a bit funky. Everyone who tried them did like them, I just didn't like how hard it was to work with the mixture. I might try it again with some tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I've been doing these truffles for years and they are soooo yummy and easy! I use fat free evaporated milk and it wors just as well (you may need a little extra time in the fridge) Also I like to add different liquiors and flavors to it (Khalua, grated orange zest, etc) use a small batch and try it ut :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This recipe works as written. However, it is VERY difficult to work as written, because there isn't enough cream. On this same site, Ghirardelli brand chocolate used 1 full cup cream to the same amount of chocolate (12 ounces chopped = 2 cups). The chocolate centers resulting from this recipe are fairly stiff. They do hold up well at room temperature, and I suspect this recipe would mail very well also. Thanks for the recipe--I will probably use another recipe next time though, one that calls for more cream than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States