Basic Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Delicious recipe! I added bourbon soaked walnuts and coated them in powdered sugar, they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SAMJJ
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Very easy. I used half vanilla extract, half peppermint. After they were shaped, I chilled them some more, then dipped in white candy coating and drizzled with red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I rolled mine in Bits O Brickle which is the toffee part of a Heath Bar. I ran them through the processor for a couple of seconds and rolled away. If I would have known that Truffles were this easy to make I wouldn't have been paying 3.00 for one, and these are A LOT better! Excellent recipe. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
These were amazing. I have to admit I was intimidated by the process, but they turned out great. I found it to be key to pour the ganache in a shallow dish - that way it cools consistently. It was quite the undertaking to roll these into little balls. Next time I will use a melon baller to make them all the same size. I did three batches over 2 days - rolled some in finely chopped walnuts, others in sprinkles (for the kids) or coconut. I also added mint extract to one batch, and rolled those in powdered sugar. Last batch was Kahlua, rolled in cocoa powder. Everyone raved over these - from my 87 year old neighbor down to the 1 year old. I'm making again for our Christmas Eve gathering, and to give to neighbors as gifts. A keeper, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snuffles
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I made these yesterday for a baby shower tomorrow. I made 3 different flavors. I had a lot of s'mores items that I hadn't used, so I added 7 large marshmallows with "about" 1/8 cup of extra cream to the cream and chocolate while it was heating, then added the chocolate. After letting cool, I rolled them into balls and then into crushed graham cracker, let cool, then dipped in melted chocolate and sprinkled with graham cracker. I made white chocolate peppermint by mixing Ande's peppermint chips with white chocolate (about 3/4 to 1/4 ratio), and covering with white chocolate coating. The last kind I made was raspberry nut. I substituted the vanilla flavoring for "about" 2 tsp of raspberry, rolled in nuts, then chocolate coating after freezing for a while. They are all great, and I think the people at the baby shower will love them. I used Ghirardelli, Hershey's and Nestle for the insides and Baker's for the outsides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
wow. This dish is so dangerous for me! I made it as stated and then rolled the balls in crushed heath bar bits. It was amazing! I ate WAY too many because I just couldn't help myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
A couple of minor changes...pour the ganache into a lined baking an or frame and smooth. Let it sit at room temperature overnight. Instead of round truffles, you can cut into strips for squares, triangles or rectangles. I also substituted irish cream for vanilla, a little heavier handed than 1 tsp, and it was amazing. Spend the money and get E Guittard, Callebaut or Valhrona. It's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstarz

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I have never made Truffles before. This recipe was easy & very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FilthyMidget

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
So very easy and it was easy to change things. I didn't have any Amaretto, but I had Amaretto flavored Agave Nectar and it worked just fine. I also added some chopped pecans. WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Very good base recipe to do some wonderful things with! I followed exactly, added peppermint extract to some and dipped in rich milk chocolate. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States