Basic Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I have made cookies in many shapes, recipes,etc over the past several years as I love to bake. With four kids I rarely have time for long prep cookies. I found the mixing was quite simple, one thing I did was after it was mixed I placed it in my sifter and sifted it a few times, this mixed quite well better than by hand. I also chose to use stick margrine melted for about 30 secs in the microwave. My batter mixes nicely. It looks and tastes like cookie dough. I never follow directions on cooking times as every oven is different. I just wait till centers look done and outside is golden. These are a win win for my family as my husband can't stand crunchy cookies(unless it is oreo) and I love crunchy cookies. The outside has a slight crunch while the inside is soft. Yes the do flatten and spread honestly with all the recipes I have used very few where actually thick cookies. The neat thing about the mix is I can use it for many types of cookies and spend minimal time in the kitchen. I would reccomend this to anyone who needs a simple way to make cookies without spending to much time in the kitchen. 2 cup mix yeilds approximately 2 dozen cookies when dropped with a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
These cookies are very basic so since I wasn't going to frost them, I made a couple of changes to the recipe. After placing them on the baking sheet, I flattened them with a glass and then sprinkled with sugar. The added sugar gave them just enough sweetness and flattening them made mine look more like cookies (they didn't spread very much on their own).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Well, I was really hoping that these would have turned out but when i was making them after I followed the recipe exactally, it ended up looking like cake batter, not cookie dough. So, I added an extra 2 cups of the mix and it finally turned out looking close to a cookie dough so I baked them. The end result not good. They looked great but really did not taste right. It tasted like a plain cookie, not a sugar cookie. Maybe it is just me but this recipe didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xxThePerfectMistakexx

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Belcourt, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Okay, so I'm not an amazing cook, but I followed this recipe exactly. I even let the mixture sit in the fridge for 20 minutes to harden. but when I put the cookies in the oven, they spread over the entire area of the pan and burned before they cooked properly. Okay, so maybe my pan wasn't the best. So, I tried it another two times. The same results. The only time it worked remotely was when I cooked it in a small cake dish and just cut them. Even with that, the taste was mediocre at best. Maybe I did something wrong, but from my experience, I would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eskimomamma2010
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I put them in the oven for 8 min, and put sprinkles on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eskimomamma2010

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
these were amazing !! way better than that photo! I used coconut oil in it's solid form and added a little water. they came out sooooo crunchy chewy almost like a carmel bottom ....yum~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
I made up the Basic Cookie Mix ahead of time, and this was the easiest way I have found to make ANY cookie. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
As we eagerly ran to the oven to see what Valentine treat awaited us, we soon were overcome with great disappointment. Behold, the cookies were flat, greasy pancakes. Not even good pancakes. We followed the recipe to a tee. What happened? We don't understand how these could have a good rating. They taste, look and sound terrible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
These were the first cookies that I've made that turned out tasting like cookies. I will say that next time I am going to chill it for a half an hour to make it less drippy batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
Sprinkle cinnamon on them before you stick them in the oven to give them a bit of extra flavor. I've shown this recipe to several friends and coworkers and they have ALL loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States