Basic Spicy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lil Mermaid
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This was my first attempt at homemade marinara. I used a 10oz. can crushed tomatoes and 1 can rotel, I pureed the rotel. I did tweak the seasonings a bit! My bf thought it was too runny so I will add tomato paste next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I'm giving this five stars although at first I thought that it was too spicy. I scaled the recipe to accommodate a huge can of crushed tomatoes that I needed to use up (hence my search for a tomato sauce recipe). Although I doubled the recipe and still added extra tomatoes (64 ounces instead of a mere 56) it had a lot of bite. Yet, I can't stop eating it, and my husband, who doesn't crave spicy foods, likes it too, and says it is not too spicy. This is a good sauce in which to add those things that you want to get rid of. I added a rind from a wedge of romano cheese, and let it simmer quite a while. And, as good as it is, I had some heavy cream that needed to be used up, so I added 7 ounces of heavy cream to a double recipe of this sauce. Very good, and I imagine it will be even better with pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
So GOOD! Make more, and freeze it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieLouLu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Wow, great basic recipe, loved this! I make hot italian sausages in the slow cooker, usually just dump a jar of prepared sauce for a quick fix, but was out of sauce. I did have a can of crushed tomatoes, and found this recipe. So glad I did. I did do some doctoring, in addition to the recipe ingredients I added some fine chopped carrot, about 1/2 cup red wine, and a packet of beef boulion in place of salt. I also added some sugar, about two tablespoons, to cut the acidity and sweeten a bit. Delicious. Good-bye jarred sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I added a pinch of sugar, 1 tbsp of tomato paste (for thickness) and a tiny bit of vegetable bullion cube. delicious and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Good as far as it goes. If you can get away with it, use tomato sauce and simmer it longer, the longer the better, adding water if you need to. As others have said, a bit of tomato paste will thicken the sauce, but make it even more acidic and bitter. So . . . Add a pinch of baking soda. IMO, sugar is not a good idea because it doesn't solve the acidity. It only masks it (and does so badly). Instead, do what my sainted grandmother used to do. Add a pinch of baking soda just as the sauce begins to simmer and stir the foam back in. Bases counteract acids. Cook awhile and add a little more baking soda if necessary. (Taste first.) That step will allow the natural sweetness of the tomato to assert itself. Don't overdo the baking soda, though. It will make the sauce unacceptably salty. Oh, and leave out the salt if you use bs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Sauce came out great. I omitted the crushed red pepper flakes and we each added them individually because I I was serving to children as well. I added meat, sausage and meatballs. Came out a tad watery, I think due to adding the meat. Next time Ill be straining the crushed tomatoes to keep it from becoming watery. Also instead of preparing on the stovetop, I made it my slow cooker. 4 hours on high or 8 hours on low. Very easy dish to prepare. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Too acidic. Add sugar to balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Mmm.. this was so good I was eating it plain, there was barely enough sauce left to cover my stuffed shells! I added a little bit of half and half (or heaving whipping cream) because that's how I like my sauces but it was still good without it. Super easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Came home from work tonight in a rush what to make for dinner and came across this recipe in my recipe box. Since I had all the ingredients I thought why not give it a try. My daughter is not a fan of spicy foods so I cut the crushed red pepper in half. I used my "Italian seasoning mix 1" from this site. This turned out quick and had a good flavor. I did let it simmer longer than specified which may have helped to tone down the canned taste from the tomatoes. Will be making this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States