Basic Spicy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lil Mermaid
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This was my first attempt at homemade marinara. I used a 10oz. can crushed tomatoes and 1 can rotel, I pureed the rotel. I did tweak the seasonings a bit! My bf thought it was too runny so I will add tomato paste next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
So GOOD! Make more, and freeze it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieLouLu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I'm giving this five stars although at first I thought that it was too spicy. I scaled the recipe to accommodate a huge can of crushed tomatoes that I needed to use up (hence my search for a tomato sauce recipe). Although I doubled the recipe and still added extra tomatoes (64 ounces instead of a mere 56) it had a lot of bite. Yet, I can't stop eating it, and my husband, who doesn't crave spicy foods, likes it too, and says it is not too spicy. This is a good sauce in which to add those things that you want to get rid of. I added a rind from a wedge of romano cheese, and let it simmer quite a while. And, as good as it is, I had some heavy cream that needed to be used up, so I added 7 ounces of heavy cream to a double recipe of this sauce. Very good, and I imagine it will be even better with pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I added a pinch of sugar, 1 tbsp of tomato paste (for thickness) and a tiny bit of vegetable bullion cube. delicious and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This sauce was quick, easy and tasty, but I'm rating it four rather than five stars because it was too spicy for me. I suggest reducing the amount of red pepper specified in the recipe. I also added olives to my sauce, and thought that grated cheese would be a great addition as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yotam Barkai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Came home from work tonight in a rush what to make for dinner and came across this recipe in my recipe box. Since I had all the ingredients I thought why not give it a try. My daughter is not a fan of spicy foods so I cut the crushed red pepper in half. I used my "Italian seasoning mix 1" from this site. This turned out quick and had a good flavor. I did let it simmer longer than specified which may have helped to tone down the canned taste from the tomatoes. Will be making this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Great and easy recipe! Put over whole wheat Penne Pasta, this Basic Tomato Sauce was outstanding! My husband loved it, will definatly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Mmm.. this was so good I was eating it plain, there was barely enough sauce left to cover my stuffed shells! I added a little bit of half and half (or heaving whipping cream) because that's how I like my sauces but it was still good without it. Super easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Wow, great basic recipe, loved this! I make hot italian sausages in the slow cooker, usually just dump a jar of prepared sauce for a quick fix, but was out of sauce. I did have a can of crushed tomatoes, and found this recipe. So glad I did. I did do some doctoring, in addition to the recipe ingredients I added some fine chopped carrot, about 1/2 cup red wine, and a packet of beef boulion in place of salt. I also added some sugar, about two tablespoons, to cut the acidity and sweeten a bit. Delicious. Good-bye jarred sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
used this when I ran out of spaghetti sauce for a recipe. worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States