Basic Spicy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Seriously good. I am a bachelor and usually the time it takes to make a really good sauce is not something I have. I added a 6oz can of tomato paste because I like a thicker sauce. Since, I like a hotter sauce as well I added a bit more peppers. This was perfect for me and beats anything that comes out of a jar. It is 5-star worthy but seemed to be missing something. Overall a great sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This was pretty good, however, not all that flavorful... I left out the red pepper & wish I had put at least a little in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KisstheCookKT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This sauce was quick, easy and tasty, but I'm rating it four rather than five stars because it was too spicy for me. I suggest reducing the amount of red pepper specified in the recipe. I also added olives to my sauce, and thought that grated cheese would be a great addition as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I'm giving this five stars although at first I thought that it was too spicy. I scaled the recipe to accommodate a huge can of crushed tomatoes that I needed to use up (hence my search for a tomato sauce recipe). Although I doubled the recipe and still added extra tomatoes (64 ounces instead of a mere 56) it had a lot of bite. Yet, I can't stop eating it, and my husband, who doesn't crave spicy foods, likes it too, and says it is not too spicy. This is a good sauce in which to add those things that you want to get rid of. I added a rind from a wedge of romano cheese, and let it simmer quite a while. And, as good as it is, I had some heavy cream that needed to be used up, so I added 7 ounces of heavy cream to a double recipe of this sauce. Very good, and I imagine it will be even better with pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Great and easy recipe! Put over whole wheat Penne Pasta, this Basic Tomato Sauce was outstanding! My husband loved it, will definatly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Mmm.. this was so good I was eating it plain, there was barely enough sauce left to cover my stuffed shells! I added a little bit of half and half (or heaving whipping cream) because that's how I like my sauces but it was still good without it. Super easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil Mermaid
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This was my first attempt at homemade marinara. I used a 10oz. can crushed tomatoes and 1 can rotel, I pureed the rotel. I did tweak the seasonings a bit! My bf thought it was too runny so I will add tomato paste next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States