Basic Spicy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
A good way to cut acidity, and somewhat thicken your sauce at the same time, is to add a spoon-tip of baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
The recipe was under cooked. You have to simmer the sauce until the oil turns red. This will tell you when the sauce is done....about 20 minutes should do it. If the sauce dries out with the extra cooking just add some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Good as far as it goes. If you can get away with it, use tomato sauce and simmer it longer, the longer the better, adding water if you need to. As others have said, a bit of tomato paste will thicken the sauce, but make it even more acidic and bitter. So . . . Add a pinch of baking soda. IMO, sugar is not a good idea because it doesn't solve the acidity. It only masks it (and does so badly). Instead, do what my sainted grandmother used to do. Add a pinch of baking soda just as the sauce begins to simmer and stir the foam back in. Bases counteract acids. Cook awhile and add a little more baking soda if necessary. (Taste first.) That step will allow the natural sweetness of the tomato to assert itself. Don't overdo the baking soda, though. It will make the sauce unacceptably salty. Oh, and leave out the salt if you use bs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I use fresh tomatoes, and add a little tomato paste to thicken, and simmer for a few hours, it is super good. I found using my crock-pot made it too runny. I make in big batches, when tomatoes are cheap and freeze it. My goal this year was to learn to make all my sauces from scratch and I've now added this one to the list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Some of the spices need to change: only 2 cloves of garlic, no italian seasoning, add: 1 TBSP dried Oregano, 2 TBSP dried BASIL, 2 Tsp. grated NUTMEG, 2 Tsp. Salt and 2 TBSP sugar. If you make these changes, it will be a 5-star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETTY BOOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Have made variations this recipe many times and would suggest one addition to ameliorate the acidity and smooth the heat a bit. It works very well in the slow cooker, but improves the stove top version also. Grated carrots -- lots of 'em -- particularly if the are lying in your veg drawer losing their crunch. Grate them for the slow cooker, or mash them for stove top; they will add texture, a bit of natural sweetness and a modicum of incidental nutrition. Slightly off topic, but I also use a large amount in my tomato soup, stick blending the cooked carrots with good canned Italian tomatoes (or cooked fresh ones from your garden) seasoning (basel essential, anything else according to individual taste0.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I tried it in the slow cooker with real tomatos and came out delicious. I added a pinch of Sugar and few leaves of basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terepinky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
é miracoloso! This is so close to my own tomato sauce that I can confidently give it 5 stars, with the warning that as written, it's not a thick sauce. Cook it down or add a small can of tomato paste to thicken it. Mine has minor tweaks, a bit more of this, a little less of that. It is my go-to Italian sauce, and the base for so many foods. From shells to spaghetti to lasagne, this is it. Adding ground beef & sausage makes a lovely meat sauce. It is wonderful on pizza. Add cream for a tomato cream sauce, or make that cream sauce alla Vodka. Seriously, you'll never buy jarred sauce again, not when homemade is so much better and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I haven't tried this, but Italian doesnt usually have pepper flakes unless the word Diablo is in the title...I'll make it without the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Sauce came out great. I omitted the crushed red pepper flakes and we each added them individually because I I was serving to children as well. I added meat, sausage and meatballs. Came out a tad watery, I think due to adding the meat. Next time Ill be straining the crushed tomatoes to keep it from becoming watery. Also instead of preparing on the stovetop, I made it my slow cooker. 4 hours on high or 8 hours on low. Very easy dish to prepare. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States