Basic Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
I have used the recipe 5 fimes, and it has been great each time. I recently obtained a starter from a friend and wanted to give sourdough a try. After making it once "by hand", I tried this machine recipe. This recipe worked better and was obviously much easier! I find bread flour works very nicely. Every bread machine is different; this recipe works very well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I don't have a bread machine so adapted this to the conventional oven. first rise until doubled, second rise for about 45 min. baked in 400degree oven for 20-25 minutes. I've used this recipe twice now and love the flavor and texture of the bread; used a raw potato starter. thanks so much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Excellent recipe. I made it manually and since my starter is not very liquid, I had to add water. This was a very nice dough that was easy to work with. I agree with reviewer DSRTBLND43 that the sourness of your starter has a lot to do with the sourness of the bread. My fairly new starter has still not achieved the tang I want, but this recipe is the recipe I will keep using for my sourdough bread. Nice crust, good chewiness, moist inside, and very good flavor. Thank you Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
So I missed the 90s Bread Revolution and just bought my first one. This was my first non-box recipe and I just happen to have a 3 year old sourdough colony in my fridge. The bread was AWESOME!!! The one comment I have is that I needed to add more water, probably closer to 1/2 a cup. You can always check on the dough during the first knead cycle and add more if necessary, which is what I did, to make it look like dough. If it's crumbly it needs water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
It would have been really good for persons who do not have a bread machine to know the order in which the ingredients are to be infused and the process by which the bread can be made by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
it need 2-6more Tablespoons of water &1-2 tsp of oil or melted butter ,the dough got a little to dry ,it was great bread,taste,texture was the best,better then store bought fresh from a bakery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tumwater, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
This is the best tasting and stays moist to the end and so very easy to make I really eat more bread then I ever used to. It is really so very good. Thank you for the recipe. Marie20002
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2000
I found this recipe a bit too dificult. Perhaps it was just me, but after carefully following the directions, I ended up with a half-cooked extremely strong tasting loaf. I made the bread three different times with the same result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2001
This recipe is the best one that I have tried in my ABM. I make a loaf nearly every day now, & we use it for grilled cheese & tomato sandwiches, french toast & for eating plain. Good texture & flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
Great! Forgot to add the yeast and it came out light and fluffy. Will redo with the yeast next time. It wasn't real sour. Because of the yeast probably. Thanks Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States