Basic Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2000
Excellent Texture! High Riser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
This is the best tasting and stays moist to the end and so very easy to make I really eat more bread then I ever used to. It is really so very good. Thank you for the recipe. Marie20002
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2000
I found this recipe a bit too dificult. Perhaps it was just me, but after carefully following the directions, I ended up with a half-cooked extremely strong tasting loaf. I made the bread three different times with the same result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
Great! Forgot to add the yeast and it came out light and fluffy. Will redo with the yeast next time. It wasn't real sour. Because of the yeast probably. Thanks Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2001
This recipe is the best one that I have tried in my ABM. I make a loaf nearly every day now, & we use it for grilled cheese & tomato sandwiches, french toast & for eating plain. Good texture & flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
I have used the recipe 5 fimes, and it has been great each time. I recently obtained a starter from a friend and wanted to give sourdough a try. After making it once "by hand", I tried this machine recipe. This recipe worked better and was obviously much easier! I find bread flour works very nicely. Every bread machine is different; this recipe works very well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
Have given up on this recipe; believe it has too much flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
This recipe is excellent. I was in a bind and didn't have a machine mix in the box but did have the sourdough starter. This recipe was EASY EASY EASY and it was DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
At the onset of baking, the loaf fell slightly. I will decrease the yeast to 1 1/2 t. next time to see if this helps since I seldom use more than 1 1/2 t. yeast on any bread machine recipe. The loaf had a good flavor and was much more like "regular" white bread than sourdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
This recipe is fairly good. It is delightfully simple, but the result was more like white bread than sourdough. I found the original recipe too yeasty in flavor. I wasn't sure if it was my starter or the recipe, so I diluted my starter with an extra cup of milk and an extra 1/4 cup sugar and let it stand overnight, until it had that nice sour aroma. Then I substituted bread flour for the all purpose flour and used only 1 teaspoon of yeast. I also used two tablespoons of sugar and about 1-1/2 teaspoons of salt, unstead of the amounts called for in the recipe. The resulting bread was mellower and less yeasty, but not as sour as I would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNNNN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States