Basic Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
So I missed the 90s Bread Revolution and just bought my first one. This was my first non-box recipe and I just happen to have a 3 year old sourdough colony in my fridge. The bread was AWESOME!!! The one comment I have is that I needed to add more water, probably closer to 1/2 a cup. You can always check on the dough during the first knead cycle and add more if necessary, which is what I did, to make it look like dough. If it's crumbly it needs water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
It would have been really good for persons who do not have a bread machine to know the order in which the ingredients are to be infused and the process by which the bread can be made by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kleerae
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
My starter is only 2 weeks old so the sour taste in my bread isnt very distinct yet, but this is a great bread, wonderful for sandwiches, very light and fluffy, nice crumb inside. Very high riser, I was afraid it might spill over in my bread machine but it did perfectly! (I did have to add about a cup of extra water to the dough to get it to the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kleerae

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
The dough never came together in the bread machine: it was incredibly clumpy and simply unusable. I ended up throwing it out.There was no way to bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haydee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Excellent recipe. I made it manually and since my starter is not very liquid, I had to add water. This was a very nice dough that was easy to work with. I agree with reviewer DSRTBLND43 that the sourness of your starter has a lot to do with the sourness of the bread. My fairly new starter has still not achieved the tang I want, but this recipe is the recipe I will keep using for my sourdough bread. Nice crust, good chewiness, moist inside, and very good flavor. Thank you Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
it need 2-6more Tablespoons of water &1-2 tsp of oil or melted butter ,the dough got a little to dry ,it was great bread,taste,texture was the best,better then store bought fresh from a bakery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tumwater, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
INCREDIBLE! I use Becky Richardson's starter and the whole family loves this bread! The crust is amazing and the bread spongy without being too dense. I'd give more than 5 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This was a really good tasting bread!! Even though it fell slightly, I am still giving it 4 stars because I didn't have machine bread yeast so that may be the problem. I will retry with it and rerate at that time if need be. In the meantime, the crust was "crusty" and the inside was real moist and tasty!! I think your sourdough starter has alot to do with the "sourness" of the bread. I used Sourdough Starter by Esther Nelson and it was really good!! Will definitely use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSRTBLND43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I like that this recipe doesn't call for bread flour. Smells and tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
This recipe is fairly good. It is delightfully simple, but the result was more like white bread than sourdough. I found the original recipe too yeasty in flavor. I wasn't sure if it was my starter or the recipe, so I diluted my starter with an extra cup of milk and an extra 1/4 cup sugar and let it stand overnight, until it had that nice sour aroma. Then I substituted bread flour for the all purpose flour and used only 1 teaspoon of yeast. I also used two tablespoons of sugar and about 1-1/2 teaspoons of salt, unstead of the amounts called for in the recipe. The resulting bread was mellower and less yeasty, but not as sour as I would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNNNN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States