Basic Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
So I missed the 90s Bread Revolution and just bought my first one. This was my first non-box recipe and I just happen to have a 3 year old sourdough colony in my fridge. The bread was AWESOME!!! The one comment I have is that I needed to add more water, probably closer to 1/2 a cup. You can always check on the dough during the first knead cycle and add more if necessary, which is what I did, to make it look like dough. If it's crumbly it needs water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
It would have been really good for persons who do not have a bread machine to know the order in which the ingredients are to be infused and the process by which the bread can be made by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kleerae
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
My starter is only 2 weeks old so the sour taste in my bread isnt very distinct yet, but this is a great bread, wonderful for sandwiches, very light and fluffy, nice crumb inside. Very high riser, I was afraid it might spill over in my bread machine but it did perfectly! (I did have to add about a cup of extra water to the dough to get it to the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kleerae

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
The dough never came together in the bread machine: it was incredibly clumpy and simply unusable. I ended up throwing it out.There was no way to bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haydee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Excellent recipe. I made it manually and since my starter is not very liquid, I had to add water. This was a very nice dough that was easy to work with. I agree with reviewer DSRTBLND43 that the sourness of your starter has a lot to do with the sourness of the bread. My fairly new starter has still not achieved the tang I want, but this recipe is the recipe I will keep using for my sourdough bread. Nice crust, good chewiness, moist inside, and very good flavor. Thank you Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
it need 2-6more Tablespoons of water &1-2 tsp of oil or melted butter ,the dough got a little to dry ,it was great bread,taste,texture was the best,better then store bought fresh from a bakery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tumwater, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
INCREDIBLE! I use Becky Richardson's starter and the whole family loves this bread! The crust is amazing and the bread spongy without being too dense. I'd give more than 5 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This was a really good tasting bread!! Even though it fell slightly, I am still giving it 4 stars because I didn't have machine bread yeast so that may be the problem. I will retry with it and rerate at that time if need be. In the meantime, the crust was "crusty" and the inside was real moist and tasty!! I think your sourdough starter has alot to do with the "sourness" of the bread. I used Sourdough Starter by Esther Nelson and it was really good!! Will definitely use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSRTBLND43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I like that this recipe doesn't call for bread flour. Smells and tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
This recipe is fairly good. It is delightfully simple, but the result was more like white bread than sourdough. I found the original recipe too yeasty in flavor. I wasn't sure if it was my starter or the recipe, so I diluted my starter with an extra cup of milk and an extra 1/4 cup sugar and let it stand overnight, until it had that nice sour aroma. Then I substituted bread flour for the all purpose flour and used only 1 teaspoon of yeast. I also used two tablespoons of sugar and about 1-1/2 teaspoons of salt, unstead of the amounts called for in the recipe. The resulting bread was mellower and less yeasty, but not as sour as I would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNNNN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States