Basic Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Great recipe and easy to follow. I had never made sourdough bread and it turned out really well. I used my machine just to make the dough and then I used my oven so I could shape it the way I wanted it. It was really sticky and gooey but I just added more flour when I was shaping it, but I think most sourdoughs are gooey like that. Wonderful recipe and I will use this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonstop
Home Town: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA
Living In: Vandalia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This bread is the best I've made with my starter. YUMMY>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Great recipe! I added 1/3 cup water to mine and it formed a very nice dough. I think it depends upon how thick a person's starter is and mine is fairly thick. I am using the Alaska sourdough starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
this bread was much to dense and heavy... there are other sour dough recipes on here that are much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roberta Morris Marsh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
this is absolutely the best....I used the dough cycle of my Sunbeam bread machine, then divided the dough for rolls. I let the rolls rise on the stove while dinner was cooking in the oven. took out the dinner and let the rolls cook in the oven at 375 degrees until browned, forgot to time the rolls. everyone loved them...now I am going to try the loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alicia101584
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I dont know what my deal is with bread, this came out tasting very strong and the bread was dense. I have had sourdough bread many times and I followed the directions to the T...... I am dumb founded
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicia101584

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Mineola, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Great Recipe. I like a soft crust so as soon as I pulled it out of the oven I took the bread out of the and rubbed butter over the top and sides. It keeps the crust from getting hard and adds a wonderful butter flavor to the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
It is very good bread with a softer crust even when set on a medium/dark setting. I added a tablespoon of honey for sour/sweet flavoring to it. I followed the recipe exact but added a teaspoon of water during the first kneading cycle in the machine. It smells delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Very good. Quite moist, very soft bread. Mine turned out a little crusty and my starter is still young so not very flavorful but this is a good easy recipe I can continue using as my starter gets better! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is the lightest, most wonderful bread that I have ever had the joy of making. All of my extended family are begging me to bake them a loaf to take home. The all love it. I have a small bread machine and this loaf was just too large for it. Because of location, I have to add around 1 1/2 cups flour more than the recipe calls for. I made the dough in the bread machine and baked it in a french loaf pan. Rave reviews. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States