Basic Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
i have tried this recipe many times and i love the way the sour taste comes through each time. very simple to make even without the bread machine. I always come here for the tried and true recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Robert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I used locally stone ground whole wheat flour ( Sonora, soft white, for any of you bread nerds ). It worked just fine, two tablespoons of vital gluten made it fail safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
this bread is so yummy, i will keep making it, i have to add a little extra water but thats no problem, im making some for my friend missy who is coming to see me today
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cherie
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I don't have a bread machine and this recipe worked great! Let it double for first rise about 2 hours; shaped and let rise about an hour then baked at 400 for 20 minutes ! Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I have a great starter I got on this site a couple years back and have not really been ecstatic about other recipes/results I have tried. This one was too easy to pass up w/o at least giving it a shot. I read some of the reviews and threw in an extra couple of tablespoons of water (just in case). This rose beautifully and baked to perfection in my machine (which is an older, inherited model). The hardest part of this recipe was carrying up the bread machine from the garage! I may try to remove the dough after prep next time and bake in a pan just for a prettier loaf....but this was a great recipe and I am happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
My kids and i are absolutely in love with it! The outside was crispy crunchy and the inside very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Great recipe and easy to follow. I had never made sourdough bread and it turned out really well. I used my machine just to make the dough and then I used my oven so I could shape it the way I wanted it. It was really sticky and gooey but I just added more flour when I was shaping it, but I think most sourdoughs are gooey like that. Wonderful recipe and I will use this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA
Living In: Vandalia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This bread is the best I've made with my starter. YUMMY>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Great recipe! I added 1/3 cup water to mine and it formed a very nice dough. I think it depends upon how thick a person's starter is and mine is fairly thick. I am using the Alaska sourdough starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
this bread was much to dense and heavy... there are other sour dough recipes on here that are much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States