Basic Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
Used dark molasses and did not use caraway. Had nice light texture, good flavor, and nice crust. Served it with corned beef and cabbage and was a real hit. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This recipe made a small but very tasty loaf. I'll definitely make it again and again. Next time I'll try scaling it to make a bigger loaf. I didn't have caraway seeds so I substituted celery seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
This was a great bread, especially if you are trying to watch what you eat but still want to have great bread to eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHES28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This is an excellent recipe! Turned out very moist & delicious. Will definately make it again..probably today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Delicious! It is a perfect sandwich bread, and is wonderful with hummus or tofu spread. I didn't have any seeds to add but the flavor was fantastic all the same. I definitely will be making this bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This was my first try at rye bread in the bread machine......wow! did I pick a winner.....this rye bread is the best I've ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Good bread, I do like the rye bread with sauerkraut in it from this website better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Photo by mags
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
this bread is lovely and moist i used the dough cycle and baked it in the oven turned out really well will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesbrough, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Middelburg, Mpumalanga, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I'm giving this one a 5 Star rating, even though I didn't actually eat any of this bread! I turned out perfectly in my bread machine & my husband DEVOURED it before anyone else got a chance LOL! I'll definitely be making this one again for him! I would like to point out though, that this recipe and one for "Dark Rye Bread" on this site are exactly the same. I went into the recipe thinking that it would be a "basic" rye bread & turned out darker than I thought it would. However, my husband thoroughly enjoyed it, so no matter! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ainsley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This baked beatifully in my bread machine. It is a bit sweet but has a good rye flavor because it contains a higher than average amount of rye flour. I don't like caraway seeds so I made it without them and it turned our just fine. My kids liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States