Basic Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I'm giving this one a 5 Star rating, even though I didn't actually eat any of this bread! I turned out perfectly in my bread machine & my husband DEVOURED it before anyone else got a chance LOL! I'll definitely be making this one again for him! I would like to point out though, that this recipe and one for "Dark Rye Bread" on this site are exactly the same. I went into the recipe thinking that it would be a "basic" rye bread & turned out darker than I thought it would. However, my husband thoroughly enjoyed it, so no matter! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ainsley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Good bread, I do like the rye bread with sauerkraut in it from this website better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
This was a great bread, especially if you are trying to watch what you eat but still want to have great bread to eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHES28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This was my first try at rye bread in the bread machine......wow! did I pick a winner.....this rye bread is the best I've ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
Used dark molasses and did not use caraway. Had nice light texture, good flavor, and nice crust. Served it with corned beef and cabbage and was a real hit. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This is an excellent recipe! Turned out very moist & delicious. Will definately make it again..probably today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This recipe made a small but very tasty loaf. I'll definitely make it again and again. Next time I'll try scaling it to make a bigger loaf. I didn't have caraway seeds so I substituted celery seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mags
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
this bread is lovely and moist i used the dough cycle and baked it in the oven turned out really well will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesbrough, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Middelburg, Mpumalanga, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This baked beatifully in my bread machine. It is a bit sweet but has a good rye flavor because it contains a higher than average amount of rye flour. I don't like caraway seeds so I made it without them and it turned our just fine. My kids liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Delicious! It is a perfect sandwich bread, and is wonderful with hummus or tofu spread. I didn't have any seeds to add but the flavor was fantastic all the same. I definitely will be making this bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States