Basic Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
Used dark molasses and did not use caraway. Had nice light texture, good flavor, and nice crust. Served it with corned beef and cabbage and was a real hit. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
This was a great bread, especially if you are trying to watch what you eat but still want to have great bread to eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHES28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This was my first try at rye bread in the bread machine......wow! did I pick a winner.....this rye bread is the best I've ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This was the third loaf I've made. First from scratch. used the bread maker: MODs to INGREDIENTS * 1 tablespoon vegetable oil (Used Cold Pressed Olive Oil) * 2 cups all-purpose flour (used Organic Whole Wheat Flour) * 1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder (left this out) * 3/4 teaspoon caraway seed (left this out) Result: Success Nice sized loaf. Dark Brown. Heavy and moist. Crumbly. Texture is like cake - almost like fruit cake. Slices fit the lunch meat well. Flavor is "intergalactic". I wonder if the "cakieness" is because I used: a. whole wheat flour b. a whole packet of yeast 2 1/4 tsp rather than 2. c. Olive Oil d. Due to the ratio of Wheat flour to Rye flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This is an excellent recipe! Turned out very moist & delicious. Will definately make it again..probably today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
It tasted bitter, and it didn't rise, I don't know if the problem was my flour, but this one went from the bread machine to the trash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
Great taste, but I had trouble in the bread machine, had to remove and knead myself for proper mix. Came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I'm giving this one a 5 Star rating, even though I didn't actually eat any of this bread! I turned out perfectly in my bread machine & my husband DEVOURED it before anyone else got a chance LOL! I'll definitely be making this one again for him! I would like to point out though, that this recipe and one for "Dark Rye Bread" on this site are exactly the same. I went into the recipe thinking that it would be a "basic" rye bread & turned out darker than I thought it would. However, my husband thoroughly enjoyed it, so no matter! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ainsley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Good bread, I do like the rye bread with sauerkraut in it from this website better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was very good -- but the texture was better with bread flour, rather than all-purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States