Basic Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
Used dark molasses and did not use caraway. Had nice light texture, good flavor, and nice crust. Served it with corned beef and cabbage and was a real hit. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
This was a great bread, especially if you are trying to watch what you eat but still want to have great bread to eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHES28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This was my first try at rye bread in the bread machine......wow! did I pick a winner.....this rye bread is the best I've ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This was the third loaf I've made. First from scratch. used the bread maker: MODs to INGREDIENTS * 1 tablespoon vegetable oil (Used Cold Pressed Olive Oil) * 2 cups all-purpose flour (used Organic Whole Wheat Flour) * 1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder (left this out) * 3/4 teaspoon caraway seed (left this out) Result: Success Nice sized loaf. Dark Brown. Heavy and moist. Crumbly. Texture is like cake - almost like fruit cake. Slices fit the lunch meat well. Flavor is "intergalactic". I wonder if the "cakieness" is because I used: a. whole wheat flour b. a whole packet of yeast 2 1/4 tsp rather than 2. c. Olive Oil d. Due to the ratio of Wheat flour to Rye flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This is an excellent recipe! Turned out very moist & delicious. Will definately make it again..probably today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
It tasted bitter, and it didn't rise, I don't know if the problem was my flour, but this one went from the bread machine to the trash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
Great taste, but I had trouble in the bread machine, had to remove and knead myself for proper mix. Came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I'm giving this one a 5 Star rating, even though I didn't actually eat any of this bread! I turned out perfectly in my bread machine & my husband DEVOURED it before anyone else got a chance LOL! I'll definitely be making this one again for him! I would like to point out though, that this recipe and one for "Dark Rye Bread" on this site are exactly the same. I went into the recipe thinking that it would be a "basic" rye bread & turned out darker than I thought it would. However, my husband thoroughly enjoyed it, so no matter! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ainsley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Good bread, I do like the rye bread with sauerkraut in it from this website better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was very good -- but the texture was better with bread flour, rather than all-purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States