Basic Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
The flavor of this bread was very good. I found the texture to be a little dense though...even for rye bread. Could be the baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This was the third loaf I've made. First from scratch. used the bread maker: MODs to INGREDIENTS * 1 tablespoon vegetable oil (Used Cold Pressed Olive Oil) * 2 cups all-purpose flour (used Organic Whole Wheat Flour) * 1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder (left this out) * 3/4 teaspoon caraway seed (left this out) Result: Success Nice sized loaf. Dark Brown. Heavy and moist. Crumbly. Texture is like cake - almost like fruit cake. Slices fit the lunch meat well. Flavor is "intergalactic". I wonder if the "cakieness" is because I used: a. whole wheat flour b. a whole packet of yeast 2 1/4 tsp rather than 2. c. Olive Oil d. Due to the ratio of Wheat flour to Rye flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I thought it was fine, my husband didn't like it at all, so it's a split decision.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Delicious! It is a perfect sandwich bread, and is wonderful with hummus or tofu spread. I didn't have any seeds to add but the flavor was fantastic all the same. I definitely will be making this bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Very good and tastey, the smell in the house as the bread bakes is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This is a delicious bread, but I think it is mislabeled--I would call it brown bread instead of rye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I always bake my bread in the oven instead of the bread machine. This one always come out a little runny when made as described. It is much easier to handle if I add 1/2 to 1 cup more flour. Love the flavor of this bread. My 2-yr old son begs for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I made this in my bread maker and it turned out wonderful. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Indianola, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This baked beatifully in my bread machine. It is a bit sweet but has a good rye flavor because it contains a higher than average amount of rye flour. I don't like caraway seeds so I made it without them and it turned our just fine. My kids liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mags
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
this bread is lovely and moist i used the dough cycle and baked it in the oven turned out really well will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesbrough, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Middelburg, Mpumalanga, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States