Basic Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I didn't add the cocoa, substituted whole wheat flour for all-purpose flour and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Bread turned out amazing. Moist and dense rye flavor without the high glycemic processed white flour and inflammatory effects of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This was a good recipe. I did not use a bread machine, omitted the cocoa and brown sugar. I left the loaf free-form on a cookie sheet... the bread is moist, dense... lovely. THX for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
While the taste was ok, the breadmaker had trouble kneading the dough. My bread fell during the final baking. I will try it again but with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was very good -- but the texture was better with bread flour, rather than all-purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I'm giving this one a 5 Star rating, even though I didn't actually eat any of this bread! I turned out perfectly in my bread machine & my husband DEVOURED it before anyone else got a chance LOL! I'll definitely be making this one again for him! I would like to point out though, that this recipe and one for "Dark Rye Bread" on this site are exactly the same. I went into the recipe thinking that it would be a "basic" rye bread & turned out darker than I thought it would. However, my husband thoroughly enjoyed it, so no matter! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ainsley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I had a disaster on my hands. I followed the recipe exactly as it reads and I added ingredients as per the bread machine instructions. It came out lumpy and doughy with the top 1"-2" cooked. Out of curiosity, I tried the cooked part and it was VERY tasty, I just don't know if someone can offer help of what to do with the bread machine? Perhaps I should make it sans the machine?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Used whole wheat flour and added 2 tsp vital wheat gluten to help rise. Other than that recipe is the same. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adamstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Good bread. A little dense, but it's got good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Good bread, I do like the rye bread with sauerkraut in it from this website better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Was like a brick. I slice with an electric knife for even pieces and the knife didn't want to cut through it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States