Basic Quiche by Shelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
I use 3 eggs and 1 1/2 cups half and half or other cream for this. That allows room for 2 to 3 cups add-ins. the 4 eggs and 2 cups doesn't allow for enough add-ins without overflowing your pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
I made this for our Christmas brunch this year. Boy did I get a lot of compliments! I made it a few weeks before as a trial run and decided that I needed to make some changes. First change, I baked the DEEP PIE SHELL in the oven (unfilled) at around 325 or 350 for 10-15 minutes. Second, I reduced the half-and half to 1 1/2 cups and increased the eggs to 5. We found the quiche to be too custardy during our trial run. Third, we shredded around 8 oz of gruyere cheese. We didn't use it all, but mixed the amount that we wanted with the eggs. That way the bottom of the crust doesn't get too mushy. We placed ham on the top of the quiche and cooked it. (It will displace during cooking.) As far as the cooking temp and time, fool around with it. Drop the temp and prepare to cook longer. I say drop the temp b/c you don't want your pie shell to get too dark around the edges. I would say that it probably took us somewhere around 1 hr in cooking time. Final result - everyone was asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
470 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This is a great, basic, can't-mess-up-no-matter-what quiche recipe. I substituted evaporated skim milk for the half & half, with no problems. I also added carmelized onions, 1/2 C. of shredded smoked gouda cheese and 4 slices of crumbled bacon. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
448 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This recipe was very easy and the results very nice. I used prepared pie crusts and half milk for the filling and the results still came out very custardy with a soft, toothsome texture. In combination with the fillings I added (diced ham, onion, broccoli, mushroom), the egg/milk mixture was enough to fill up 2 quiches. My husband and kids loved this; we ate both entire quiches for dinner. Only suggestion was that the quiche needs cooking a little longer than directed: after the 25 minutes at 350, they were still gelatinous and not set. I turned up the heat to 375 and cooked for 20 minutes more and they came out lovely, fragrant and savory. Can't wait to try this recipe again with other fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Fantastic! Only mod. I made was an extra egg and I used 1/2 the cream and 1/2 1% milk. Also I par cooked my pie cruse for 5 min @ 400 degrees to crisp up the crust a bit. Cooked quiche for 45- 1 hour as well. This was so nice with a lite salad and a glass of Sav. Blanc!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
This is the best basis quiche recipe I've tried and I've tried many. It is very favorfull. My 5-year-old triplets love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Too much milk in this recipie. Reduce to 1 & 1/2 cup. Flavor was good though and I will use again with the milk reduction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Very simple and very good. I did use all mozzerella cheese rather than the speciality cheese. It got raves from my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Knightdale, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
easy, simple and direct, add what ever you like and this turns out great every time to say nothing about different each time since this is a basic recipe and I can add any left over I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Not bad but I need either bacon or ham in my Quiche. Great with a glass of well chilled wine and garden salad on a Saturday evening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Quiche by Shelly

Watch how to make this versatile quiche.

Quiche

Watch how to prepare this make-ahead quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States