Basic Quiche by Shelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Perfectly adaptable for large volume preparation with variation of cheeses to match different add-ins like meat or seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
great basic quiche recipe, although I'm not sure how one could fit the entire quiche filling into one 9" pie crust. I had plenty of mixture for two 9" pie crusts... &the only mod I made was the addition of some crumbled bacon, which took up next to no room.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This was a great base recipe. I omitted the cheese called for in the recipe and made my own variations. Cheddar and bacon is nice. Sauted onion and julienned zuchini with goat cheese was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Fantastic recipe. A few tweaks though-- lose half a cup of the cream, and add an extra egg, or it's a bit too light. I throw in a little chopped ham and some sauteed onions too to jazz it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Good quiche but a little bit too much custardy taste. I made mine with a 3 cheese mix and also a cup of chopped ham. I think next time I will reduce the half and half to 1 1/2 cups and add 5 eggs instead of 4. I will also reduce the temp and cook it a little bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Best quiche recipe I have found! I only used 2 eggs and a cup of 5% cream - had a fair bit of "filling" - but it turned out great, nice and light and fluffy - not overdone or too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
there is way too much half and half in the recipe, i use 5 eggs and 1 cup of half and half and it works for me. i add chopped red and green bell peppers and its delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KBT24
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I thought this was great. Although I did alter the recipe. I left out the nutmeg, replaced white pepper with black pepper (left these out just b/c I didn't have them) and I added hot Italian sausage and some cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBT24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I am forever using recipes as a "guide" and changing things to please my family. I doubled the recipe for two quiche. I also used smoked cheddar and mozzarella I also sauteed onion and added crumbled bacon- a much heartier dish for dinner. I read one reviewer thought there was too much half and half but I did not have a problem there.. I did however add an additional egg. Also, I found that I had to cook for additional 10 minutes-could have been my oven or the fact that I was cooking two at a time. I did have to cover the crust about halfway through. My gas oven seems to cook too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I have found that if I up the dairy to 3 cups and the eggs to 6 I can just fill 2 9-inch shells with some filling as well... My 6 year old loves the chopped up deli chicken, onion and cheddar version I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Quiche by Shelly

Watch how to make this versatile quiche.

Quiche

Watch how to prepare this make-ahead quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States