Basic Quiche by Shelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Used Gruyere cheese for this along with the following filling: Sauteed a 6 oz bag of spinach, and removed water by pressing between a couple of paper towels, chopped and sauteed crimini mushrooms with 1 clove of garlic and added the chopped spinach back into the mix with a pinch of salt and pepper. Was a big it a brunch :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Loved this! My family's favorite add-ins are spinach (frozen, thawed and drained of excess water), asparagus and bacon (my kids ate asparagus!), chopped and cooked broccoli, and ham. You can add anything to this great, basic quiche. It has turned out great for me every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slckaren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Great base recipe! I used this base to make mini quiches using the Cream Cheese Tart Shells from this site for crust. I modifed the filling and instead used swiss cheese, ham, and chives, a tiny pinch in each shell and then topped with Shelley's egg filling. They were a hit at the baby shower! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Best ever quiche - finally set in the middle! I did substitue 2 cups of low-fat cottage cheese for the cream; it's extremely yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Excellent basic quiche recipe! I used 3/4c cream and 3/4c 2% milk to cut down on the fat/calories. I stuck with the 4 eggs and the consistency was perfect. For the fillings I added shredded mozzarella, fresh basil, sun dried tomatoes and green onions. It was divine! Anything would work - that's the beauty of this recipe. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Great basis for easy Quiche! This was my 1st attempt, I made it for Christmas Brunch for my husbands family. I opted for Cheddar instead of Jarlsburg and added 1 frozen spinach, drained and dried and diced roasted red pepper for the the green/red look. SUPER tasty!! I'm making it again for a party next weekend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I think this is one of those tried and true recipes and my review is not a commentary on Shelly's original recipe...but a warning to others. I only make quiche around once a year and I do hate a soggy crust so I thought pre-baking the shell was probably a good idea. So, I put my ready-made pie crust in a 325 degree oven as recommended. When I went to check on my crust 10 minutes later, it wasn't golden. In fact the sides had collapsed and curled up so I no longer had any sides! Then I checked the pie crust box directions and it directed a 450 degree oven for an unbaked shell (and yes I did prick the bottom and sides). So, if you try the pre-baking, be sure to use a hot enough oven. You can decrease the temp later for actually baking the quiche.I didn't have time to put a pie crust together from scratch so I just used the defective shell I had created and it is baking in the oven right now. I'm guessing I'll end up with a soggy crust after all as there were no sides to contain the egg batter, but hopefully it will taste good anyhow :) I would definitely try the recipe again just with a hotter oven for the prebake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made this quiche using 4 lg. eggs, 1 can evaporated milk, sauted red onion-chopped, H.F. Turkey Sausage-thinly sliced, Mozzerella and Cheddar Cheese. I pre-baked the crust-cooled, put cheese in the crust, poured egg mix, topped with sauted onion and meat. Yum. Even the grandkids ate it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Perfect. Baked this filling inside "Cream Cheese Tart Shells" on this site. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Perfectly adaptable for large volume preparation with variation of cheeses to match different add-ins like meat or seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Quiche by Shelly

Watch how to make this versatile quiche.

Quiche

Watch how to prepare this make-ahead quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States