Basic Quiche by Shelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
There is way to much half & half and not enough egg in this basic recipe, I reduced the half &half to 1 1/2 cup and used 5 eggs. I like meat in my quiche but can't count off for it since this a recipe for BASIC QUICHE, it's an awesome example for a person new to making quiche. You can personalize this to suite lots of different taste. I personally like to use Kraft 3 cheese blend (1 cup) and 1/2 cup cubed ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divaluangraj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
best, creamiest quiche ever. In fact making this quiche made me wonder if it's possible to make a sweet quiche, like a vanilla bacon maple quiche with a bruleed top. or a quiche with a bit of pumpkin and maple mixed in. It is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I have made this lots of times. It is a favorite in my family and I use different add-ins each time depending on what I have on hand. The kids love it. It also reheats well so we enjoy having one cooked and on hand for those rush dinners during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Too much cream. I did a cup and a half and it was still too gooey. I prefer thicker quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
really tasty basic recipe. Added ham steak and spinach and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I really wanted to like this recipe more than I did. I think that there is too much nutmeg, it is a spice I rarely use, so maybe I am just over sensitive to the flavor. I also had to bake it a little longer. I turned the oven up to 175 degrees and baked for an additional 10 minutes. With that modification the consistency turned out good. I added red bell pepper, onion, broccoli ,and ham to the dish and it still came out bland (except for the nutmeg)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadamC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I used the basic recipe for proportions which is exactly what I was looking for! I used what I had as add ins. Pepper jack cheese layered on the bottom of the crust (I also precooked the crust for about 10 min) then sliced tomatoes on top, then chopped up deli turkey. I had some fresh spinach which i sauteed with garlic and shallots and added that on top of the turkey. I poured the egg mixture on top and didn't use it all because it was starting to sneak out the edge :) It definitely needed extra time to cook but it also is important to let it firm up again after it's done. I let it sit out about 10 or 15 minutes and it was perfect! Such a great way to use leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
We added some ham and substituted gruyere for the jarlsberg and evaporated milk for the half-and-half it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Used Gruyere cheese for this along with the following filling: Sauteed a 6 oz bag of spinach, and removed water by pressing between a couple of paper towels, chopped and sauteed crimini mushrooms with 1 clove of garlic and added the chopped spinach back into the mix with a pinch of salt and pepper. Was a big it a brunch :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Loved this! My family's favorite add-ins are spinach (frozen, thawed and drained of excess water), asparagus and bacon (my kids ate asparagus!), chopped and cooked broccoli, and ham. You can add anything to this great, basic quiche. It has turned out great for me every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slckaren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Quiche by Shelly

Watch how to make this versatile quiche.

Quiche

Watch how to prepare this make-ahead quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States