Basic Quiche by Shelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This was my first quiche and I thought it was idiot proof. I cut back cream just a tad and added an extra egg based on reviews. I also pre-cooked crust a little, added sauteed onions, mushrooms, fresh broccoli, bacon, sharp cheddar and mozzarella. I also cooked an extra 5 minutes. Perfection! I will use this as my go to quiche for all occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
The flavor of the quiche I made using this recipe was very good. I will definitely use this recipe again and may try adding another ingredient once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
We loved this! It's a great basic quiche recipe that you can add whatever you'd like to it. I added roasted red peppers, feta cheese, and spinach. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
5 stars with these fillings and basic changes: 1) 6 eggs and 1 1/2c whole milk. 2) Large deep dish pie plate lined with (Perfect Pie Crust-Pioneer Woman), 3) 6 slices thick hickory smoked BACON, cooked and coarsly chopped, 4) 3 TBSP minced yellow ONION + 6 oz MUSHROOMS coarsly chopped and sauteed in TBSP butter 3-5 minutes, 5) 10 oz chopped frozen SPINACH-thawed and squeezed dry + 2 TBSP chopped oil packed SUNDRIED TOMATOES. 6) 1 can small ARTICHOKE HEARTS drained, patted dry and coarsly chopped, 7) 1 1/2c coarsly grated ASIAGO cheese. 8)IMPORTANT....Heat oven to 450 with a baking sheet on the lowest rack for 10 minutes. While sheet is heating, fill your prepared crust with all the fillings except the egg mixture. Once sheet pan is heated place crust on it, and pour egg over fillings. Bake for 15 minutes (450) and turn down to 325 for 45 more minutes, or until just set. Allow to cool at least 30 minutes before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I want to love this. So much so that I made the same recipe a second time not remembering I'd tried this same one before and it was thrown out. It may be perfect for some, don't get me wrong. But it is so wet as to be more of an egg custard than a quiche. An extra 40 minutes of cooking barely set the middle. An hour of sitting on the stove to 'set' and over-night in the fridge still didn't render this set enough for my family. I prefer a quiche that requires chewing and not just mushing it on the roof of your mouth. I STRONGLY suggest that you cut the liquid to 1.5 or even 1.25 cups and add another egg or two. I will try another basic quiche recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I love this recipe and it has become a regular meal in our home. After reading the other reviews I cut the half and half amount so I can add in extra goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking 4 Joy
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Great non-traditional way to start your day! Quick, easy and filling. Mix ingrediants, pop in oven, get ready for day, take out quiche and boom! Add chopped peppers, mushrooms or sausage bits for zest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I find this is a PERFECT basic for all my quiches. I omit and change the herbs/spices and cheese accordingly. Take note of the picture, this is done NOT in a pie plate, but a quiche pan. The recipe as is...added with my ingredients of choice, fits perfectly in any of my 3 quiche pans. Tonight I used this adding sausage, cheddar cheese, cumin, garlic powder, onion powder and a little cayenne pepper. Topped with left over chili and jalapenos. I have used this recipe for quiches made with just veggies, ham, burger etc. Again, just change the spices and cheeses accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Withbull

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I've made this a couple of times, following the recipe exactlty & also using 3 eggs & 1.5 c. hslf & half and it always takes much longer than 40 mins. I bake it for 15 min at 425 then end up baking it about 40 mins vs 25
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Wasn't my favorite recipe. Needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Quiche by Shelly

Watch how to make this versatile quiche.

Quiche

Watch how to prepare this make-ahead quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States