Basic Quiche by Shelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is a good starter recipe but it calls for way too much cream. And the baking time is WAY off. You must cook it for more like 45 or 50 min and reduce the cream by about 1/4 to 1/2. Add fresh basil, spinach, roasted red peppers, and use fresh mozzarella and parmesan instead of the cheese that is called for. Sprinkle a little parmesan cheese over it just at the end of cooking. Yummie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillerinbott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Industry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was my first time making quiche so this was a great easy recipe. I added crumbled left over meatloaf and frozed soup mix vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Great basic recipe! Try subsituting the half/half with sour cream, it is suprisingly delicious! Also, get creative with it. I made mine with browned sausage, fresh diced tomatoes, mushrooms (canned), green pepper, onion, and meunster cheese. I sauteed the green pepper and onions for a few minutes until tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I always like to try recipes as written and then tweak it according to feedback. This was the BEST quiche recipe I've ever tried and I'm "known for my quiche." However, it's not terribly slimming, which is a problem, because it's so delicious, I always end up eating more than I should!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimsmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Very good. Nice to have a great basic recipe to experiment with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I would not call myself a picky eater, but I didn't care for this recipe because it was way too custardy. I cut down on the cream by 1/2 a cup and added an egg, but it was still off. All 5 people that tried this agreed. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is my go to quiche recipe. I have made it with many different veggies, bacon or ham. It's no fail and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Great base. Saute onions, bacon and vegetables first. I use 5 eggs, 1 cup of cream and 1 cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Limit Does Not Exist
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
It was nice! I baked the crust alone in the oven at 425 degrees F (after I coated it thinly with butter) while I mixed the eggs and cheese ingredients, then I took out the crust, added the ingredients and followed the instructions as listed. Very light, fluffy, buttery and successful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Limit Does Not Exist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barstow, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Wow! I was very impressed with this simple but tasty quiche. I agree that there is just a bit too much cream, in the future I will reduce it. I also found that I needed to cook it for about 10 or 15 more minutes for it to be cooked. The consistency is a bit less solid than I would like, but I am assuming that is because of the amount of cream. I was DELIGHTED with the taste and the simplicity. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Quiche by Shelly

Watch how to make this versatile quiche.

Quiche

Watch how to prepare this make-ahead quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States