Basic Quiche by Shelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Wow! I was very impressed with this simple but tasty quiche. I agree that there is just a bit too much cream, in the future I will reduce it. I also found that I needed to cook it for about 10 or 15 more minutes for it to be cooked. The consistency is a bit less solid than I would like, but I am assuming that is because of the amount of cream. I was DELIGHTED with the taste and the simplicity. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Never made quiche before, and this recipe is an excellent jumping off point. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WallyPres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I've used this recipe as my "starter" four times now, and the results have been uniformly wonderful. Like other reviewers, I reduced the amount of cream to offset the other ingredients I added (if you don't, your cup really WILL run over), with no appreciable loss of flavor or consistency. One thing I did do that wasn't in the instruction was to whisk the eggs thoroughly before adding the cream, and then do it again, after adding it. It made the filling amazingly light when it set. This recipe really is a keeper. Thanks to Shelly for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terrie
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I placed onions , broccoli and bacon bits at the bottom , along with the cheese ( prior to pouring the liquids) Reduced to 3 eggs and 1 1/2 cups of half and half ( instead of 2 cups) Result = Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This was my first quiche and I thought it was idiot proof. I cut back cream just a tad and added an extra egg based on reviews. I also pre-cooked crust a little, added sauteed onions, mushrooms, fresh broccoli, bacon, sharp cheddar and mozzarella. I also cooked an extra 5 minutes. Perfection! I will use this as my go to quiche for all occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
The flavor of the quiche I made using this recipe was very good. I will definitely use this recipe again and may try adding another ingredient once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
We loved this! It's a great basic quiche recipe that you can add whatever you'd like to it. I added roasted red peppers, feta cheese, and spinach. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
5 stars with these fillings and basic changes: 1) 6 eggs and 1 1/2c whole milk. 2) Large deep dish pie plate lined with (Perfect Pie Crust-Pioneer Woman), 3) 6 slices thick hickory smoked BACON, cooked and coarsly chopped, 4) 3 TBSP minced yellow ONION + 6 oz MUSHROOMS coarsly chopped and sauteed in TBSP butter 3-5 minutes, 5) 10 oz chopped frozen SPINACH-thawed and squeezed dry + 2 TBSP chopped oil packed SUNDRIED TOMATOES. 6) 1 can small ARTICHOKE HEARTS drained, patted dry and coarsly chopped, 7) 1 1/2c coarsly grated ASIAGO cheese. 8)IMPORTANT....Heat oven to 450 with a baking sheet on the lowest rack for 10 minutes. While sheet is heating, fill your prepared crust with all the fillings except the egg mixture. Once sheet pan is heated place crust on it, and pour egg over fillings. Bake for 15 minutes (450) and turn down to 325 for 45 more minutes, or until just set. Allow to cool at least 30 minutes before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I want to love this. So much so that I made the same recipe a second time not remembering I'd tried this same one before and it was thrown out. It may be perfect for some, don't get me wrong. But it is so wet as to be more of an egg custard than a quiche. An extra 40 minutes of cooking barely set the middle. An hour of sitting on the stove to 'set' and over-night in the fridge still didn't render this set enough for my family. I prefer a quiche that requires chewing and not just mushing it on the roof of your mouth. I STRONGLY suggest that you cut the liquid to 1.5 or even 1.25 cups and add another egg or two. I will try another basic quiche recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I love this recipe and it has become a regular meal in our home. After reading the other reviews I cut the half and half amount so I can add in extra goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Basic Quiche by Shelly

Watch how to make this versatile quiche.

Quiche

Watch how to prepare this make-ahead quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States