Basic Quiche by Shelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Great basic recipe! Try subsituting the half/half with sour cream, it is suprisingly delicious! Also, get creative with it. I made mine with browned sausage, fresh diced tomatoes, mushrooms (canned), green pepper, onion, and meunster cheese. I sauteed the green pepper and onions for a few minutes until tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I always like to try recipes as written and then tweak it according to feedback. This was the BEST quiche recipe I've ever tried and I'm "known for my quiche." However, it's not terribly slimming, which is a problem, because it's so delicious, I always end up eating more than I should!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimsmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Very good. Nice to have a great basic recipe to experiment with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I would not call myself a picky eater, but I didn't care for this recipe because it was way too custardy. I cut down on the cream by 1/2 a cup and added an egg, but it was still off. All 5 people that tried this agreed. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is my go to quiche recipe. I have made it with many different veggies, bacon or ham. It's no fail and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Great base. Saute onions, bacon and vegetables first. I use 5 eggs, 1 cup of cream and 1 cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Limit Does Not Exist
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
It was nice! I baked the crust alone in the oven at 425 degrees F (after I coated it thinly with butter) while I mixed the eggs and cheese ingredients, then I took out the crust, added the ingredients and followed the instructions as listed. Very light, fluffy, buttery and successful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Limit Does Not Exist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barstow, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Wow! I was very impressed with this simple but tasty quiche. I agree that there is just a bit too much cream, in the future I will reduce it. I also found that I needed to cook it for about 10 or 15 more minutes for it to be cooked. The consistency is a bit less solid than I would like, but I am assuming that is because of the amount of cream. I was DELIGHTED with the taste and the simplicity. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Never made quiche before, and this recipe is an excellent jumping off point. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WallyPres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I've used this recipe as my "starter" four times now, and the results have been uniformly wonderful. Like other reviewers, I reduced the amount of cream to offset the other ingredients I added (if you don't, your cup really WILL run over), with no appreciable loss of flavor or consistency. One thing I did do that wasn't in the instruction was to whisk the eggs thoroughly before adding the cream, and then do it again, after adding it. It made the filling amazingly light when it set. This recipe really is a keeper. Thanks to Shelly for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Quiche by Shelly

Watch how to make this versatile quiche.

Quiche

Watch how to prepare this make-ahead quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States