Basic Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dehja M
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
This was my first time ever making pasta... I love it! Instead of only adding salt however, for the seasoning I added salt, dried basil, celery salt, and a blend of garlic and parsley salt. I made a new version of Chicken Alfredo, with this Pasta, Alfredo sauce and fried chicken tenders on the side... Its delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dehja M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
I made this (very) recently and I love the proportions of it. Though I would recommend adding a few teaspoons of olive oil as you knead it. It was a bit gluey as first and the oil just brought it all together. Then, when you're cooking it, add lots of salt to the water. There's not much salt in the recipe and the salt brings out the flavor of the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Easy recipe that's great! Changes I've made (made it several times) are: -Add a little olive oil and a little less water (around 1/2) -Let dough rest covered for 20 minutes at room temp after kneading -Roll out dough as thin as you like on a pastry cloth, dust with flour and let sit another 20 minutes uncovered -Cut with pizza roller or knife -then cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
I have made this several times. Very easy and tasty. I used 1 this of water and 1 this oiled oil. Great workability and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Treasak
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
This turned out really good. I wasn't sure if it would work. It did. Just added 1 tablespoon olive oil and 1 teaspoon parsley . I let it rest for about 1 hr. I hand rolled it really thin and I made a mushroom basil sauce to go with it!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Excellent pasta! Definitely going to need a machine next time! (I like my pasta thinner which is difficult when rolling it out by hand) I used 1 tbsp extra water at it was a little too dry. But quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Lost my pasta recipe that I used for years and, voila, I found this one. It's so much better than my old one; no additional flour needed to roll. I used my pasta machine and you really don't want your dough to be the least bit sticky. Not so with this recipe. The only thing I did differently was to let it rest for 20 minutes; please do it, you will be glad you did. Thanks so much for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This was my first attempt at making homemade pasta, so I wanted an easy recipe. I followed it with no changes, but the dough was so dry I couldn't even get all the flour to mix in. So I added the water, and it was still too dry. I added 2 tbs EVOO (I misread the other comments where they said they added 1/2 tbs), but it turned out fine, and it all held together well. I don't have a pasta machine so I rolled it out by hand. As a result, it was kind of thick, but I cut it into strips and cooked it. The end result was OK. A little too salty for me, which made me think of the old salt dough we used to make Christmas ornaments out of as kids. And because of the thickness, some of the pieces were not fully cooked in the middle but the outsides were starting to get slimy. If I try this one again, I'll cut the salt in half, and add less EVOO to see if that changes the flavor. I can always add more if needed. Other recipes I've seen have a higher egg-to-flour ratio so I might try one of those next time. When I do make pasta again, I'll try and roll it out more evenly so it cooks more evenly. But for a first attempt, I'm not too disappointed with how it came out, and I'm encouraged to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki Errington

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
i Used 2 cups of flour to 3 eggs, 1 tsp salt and1 TB olive oil - tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Tastes pretty good. I also added some evoo. But it was diffucult to make it thin with a roller
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Fresh Semolina and Egg Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States