Basic Microwave Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Not only was this easy, but so delicious! I did substitute more chicken broth for the wine since we are all out. It worked very well and received rave reviews from my family :-) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyjamie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
The consistency and texture of the risotto turned out great! I may never make the conventional way again! That being said, I only used 1/2 of a medium size onion and it was somewhat overpowering. If I had mushrooms to add I think it would have really harmonized with the onion and it would have been great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Cleer Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I'm the only one in my family of 4 who likes risotto, so I pull this one out when I want to treat myself. It cooks up quick & easily...and I get to "slurge" & have a glass of wine while waiting for it to cook up. I keep saying next time I'll add something (shrimp? peas? mushrooms?) to it, but I keep making the original recipe! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Earns its five starts due to the fact that it cooks in the microwave, only about 4 stars for taste. I eliminate the onions, due to a picky eater in the house, and decrease butter by a tablespoon. Have substituted chicken broth for both the wine and veg. broth in the past. I add a dash of cream at the end of cooking. Great for a quick side dish! I do have to cook the butter less in micro to keep from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizdecember

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Wow, easy and good. Only changes-sauteed onions and garlic first, and added can of mushrooms, with juice, and enough wine to make 3/4 C liquid, put in about 1/4 c cream when cooking was finished. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
i have had this in my recipe box for quite a while and am really glad i finally made this. i followed the suggestions of the reviewers and stirred halfway through all of the cooking times. i have a 1000 watt microwave and i felt mine needed a total of 10 more mins and more chix broth after. i cant wait to make this again for the hubs because he loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
An excellent substitute for the stove. I wouldn't change a thing about the recipe, except maybe to double it. The leftovers are just as good. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I loved this recipe. I added about a teaspoon of lemon juice, used chicken stock, and a bit more cheese, probably double. It was definitely a little chewy but I liked it that way. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was o.k. but needs to be adjusted. First off, the risotto was not cooked enough with the times given and there was not near enough liquid to soak in. I will try this again but have to adjust with more liquid (I didn't have time when made the first time). I have to say the old fashioned, more difficult way definitely gets better results! This was not creamy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This is a very simple way to get a very tasty side dish. You don't have to think too much into it, just make it and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Cotati, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States