Basic Microwave Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I have a dairy allergy, so I omitted the butter (used all olive oil). I doubled the recipe. This recipe is great because you can add whatever you want to pair it with any meal! I'd highly recommend using fresh herbs, and limiting your additions to 3 - too many makes it too busy. I've made this recipe twice, both times it was FANTASTIC. I did add 5 minutes to the cook time because of the extra volume, and stirred half way through both cook times. The first time I added baby bella mushrooms (cut bite size) in with garlic and onion. Then, I added baby spinach, artichoke hearts and roasted red peppers (drained, roughly chopped) during the mid-10 minute stir. The second time I added oven roasted tomatoes (sliced romas, salt and pepper and olive oil, 350 degrees until soft), artichoke hearts (drained, quartered) and fresh thyme all at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I can't believe how good this is for being microwaved! Added frozen peas to the mix when I added the wine (actually used apple juice b/c I didn't have a cheap white available). Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I made this tonight and it came out wonderful, as every other time I made it. This time I added some 10 grams of reconstituted porcini mushsrooms with the onions and garlic, and a big pinch of saffron to the stock (used beef instead of vegetarian. This is a great recipe, so adaptable, and best of all, it allows me to have cocktails with my guests instead of sticking me in the kitchen with a wooden spoon to stir, stir stir!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Paroo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I added a can of mushrooms and used apple cider instead of wine. I didn't have an onion so I used dried onions. I cooked up the garlic, butter, and onion on a skillet instead of a separate microwavable bowl (same number of dishes and I could heat up the broth while heating up the other stuff) Quick, easy, and delicious! I'll make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XPOKEYX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grass Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was a decent risotto. It had a nice flavor and didn't use near as much butter or oil as the recipe called for either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMS2010

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I was very skeptical about this recipe at first, as I didn't think the risotto would get soft enough in the micro. But, I was proven wrong. This is a great micro risotto recipe, and much better than standing over the stove stirring! I used 1/2 cup more broth during cooking, and then stirred in some milk at the end when I added the cheese to make it creamier like traditional risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This is pretty good, though not quite as good as the traditional way of cooking risotto. I also found I had to add 1/2 cup morel broth and add on 4 minutes of cooking after the suggested 10 minutes of nuking. I also added a splash of cream w/the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Absolutely delicious. First time making risotto. Super easy and got rave reviews from husband and sister. Kids didn't like it, but what's new?!? Update 1/10--tried it again and used red wine and it was even better, and really pretty! Plus, the kids liked it this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemon Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Yum, yum, yum! I doubled the garlic, used half a large onion, and stirred in a few tablespoons of milk with the cheese to give it a little more creaminess. Leftovers reheat well - just add a dash of milk and it's good to go. Impressively good for the limited amount of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I am going to give this recipe 5 stars for the idea and technique. I have never made risotto before and have always wanted to. I've had this recipe saved for a long time and purchased the arborrio rice to make it. Well, tonight was my opportunity to try it out. I followed the recipe closely, but substituted shallots for onions (like the flavor better) and used chicken instead of veggie broth. This was very good, but I did use more liquid than the recipe called for. My rice container suggested 3 cups of liquid for 1 cup of uncooked rice, and I think that's a lot closer to what you will really need to use. I ran out of broth and had to add extra wine (didn't want to use water!) so mine ended up being pretty wine tasting (is that a word?). The kids weren't crazy about that, but hubs and I both enjoyed it. Would probably be great topped with some fresh chives or parsley at the end. Next time will plan of having more broth available and just a bit of wine. Loved the parm stirred in at the end. Will totally try this again and it's nice enough for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States