Basic Microwave Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Wow! Thanks for another recipe we love that is simple to make too. I've made this twice in the last week. Only had White Zin the first time, much better the second time with Chardonnay. Also used chicken broth both times as my grocery is always out of vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This Dish is delicious. I did not change a thing except I used what I had, chicken both and it was fab. I am going to have fun experimenting with this recipe. Thanks sooo much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Note: If you are thinking of trying this with brown rice, let me save you the time. It doesn't work. I know brown rice takes more time but after more than 45 minutes I still couldn't get this to resemble risotto. I was anxious to try this with a brown rice to boost the nutrition but it came out more like a pilaf. Edible, but not risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was AWESOME! Cooked perfectly with no slaving over the stove! I even forgot to add the parmesan at the end, and it was still a wonderful risotto! I'm making it again and adding the cheese this time. I would imagine it only gets better with cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I really liked this! Next time I might increase the amount of stock (I used chicken) and decrease the amount of wine slightly. I used long-grain rice, and needed to cook it about 3 minutes longer. Could have been a bit creamier, but overall it was very tasty and I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Incredibly easy, and might even taste better when reheated the next day for lunch. Grape tomatoes make a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
So easy and so good! I made this exactly as written and it was delicious. My teenage son was actually disappointed that there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Sooo easy and quite tasty. I love risotto, but struggle with more complicated recipes. While this isn't quite the same as those fancy shmancy risottos, it's good enough for me! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I had a microwave risotto recipe from years ago that I couldnt find so I kind of merged the 2, based on what I could remember from the first. The results were very good (which leads me to believe that this recipe is very forgiving...this is why I dont bake!) I used 1/2 butter 1/2 olive oil, its healthier. I melted the butter then added the onions and cooked them for 1 minute. I then added some mushrooms and garlic and cooked for a minute more. Then added rice , stirred and cooked for 2 mins,then I did the wine (like you would with classic risotto). I never covered the dish and used 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth in stead of the 1 1/2 veg. Probably nuked it with broth for about 20-30 minutes? Was very yummy! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This recipe was much easier than a traditional risotto. I did make some minor improvements to suit our tastes. I added more broth and cooked slightly longer than suggested bc we like the rice softer. I also stirred in a lrg splash of cream to the finished product to make it creamier. I will make this againa and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States