Basic Microwave Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This is a very simple way to get a very tasty side dish. You don't have to think too much into it, just make it and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Cotati, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This was allright. I liked it, but my fiance didn't. I guess we are just spoiled being that we both make a MEAN homemade risotto :) For ease, you can't expect much (geez!).... I found Drasaid's directions to be spot on. I was a bit confused, though. I did not know what wattage microwave oven Drasaid used (mine was 850 watts) and also was unsure as to whether or not I was supposed to remove the lid during the last 10 minutes of cooking (i.e. when the wine was added), so I cooked for 5 minutes, checked, then microwaved for 5 minutes more as directed (you ARE supposed to remove the lid during the last step!). I ended up using slightly more than 1/4 cup of Parmesan (i.e. fancy shredded cheese - DON'T use the can stuff... yuck!) since I wanted to use up what I had on hand. I also added 1 cup of frozen (thawed) peas after everyting was mixed thoroughly. I could detect a slight hint of wine (my fiance did not). That is my only complaint. You should NEVER taste wine in your risotto; it should only be added to enhance. I also found Drasaid's risotto to be a bit creamy (almost gooey), but that can be easily fixed by adding more liquid or less cheese. Play around with this. Add veggies, meat, pinenuts - anything goes! This pairs especially well with Broiled Tilapia Parmesan by Phoebe (also on this site). Thanks for sharing such a quick, fun recipe Drasaid : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Very tasty, very quick and very easy. I stirred in a bit of half-and-half at the end and it was creamy and delicious! My two-year-old is currently scarfing down seconds, which tells you everything right there. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
It was easy and yummy! It's one of those recipes that will be different everytime I make it because I'll change it up everytime. I used ck broth and a small can of V8 juice for the liquids and used some frozen veggies. I didn't have any cream like one reviewer recommended, so I stirred in milk after I added the cheeses. I will definately be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Quick and easy and tasty, my kind of risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
delicious and easy are the two most important factors for me and this recipe has both of them. easy to change the recipe a little every time for what you feel like whether it's cheesier or some sun-dried tomatoes or vegetables. great recipe. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was really good. I cooked mine for quite a bit longer than the recipe called for, probably about 30 minutes from the point where you add the broth. (the rice was still uncooked in the center after the cooking times specified in the recipe). I continued to stir in more stock every 3-6 minutes until the rice was no longer hard in the middle. I also left the lid on because I didn't think that you want any liquid to boil off in a risotto, (don't you want it to absorb into the rice, making it more creamy?) I used chicken stock and added sundried tomatoes at the end and it turned out great. Can't wait to try this again with some different variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Love it. So easy. I took the other reviewers advice and added a little more cheese and some heavy cream. Works well with whatever veggies you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This recipe was easy but following the recipe gives less than desirable results. I followed others' suggestions and added the carmelized onions and garlic half way through the cooking. I had to cook this another 4 minutes to get it soft enough, and I would have cooked it another 2 or 3 with additional liquid if I had the time. Extra cheese for us too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Yep, this really does work. I am thrilled with the fact that I don't have to stand over a stove stirring for 30 minutes. I sauteed my onions and garlic separately and used chicken broth entirely. I did add the onions an garlic at the start with the rice. I kept the lid on for the last 10 minutes, stirred at 5 minutes and checked it with 2 minutes left on the timer and it was done. I stirred in the parm and grubbed. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: South Grafton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States