Basic Microwave Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
i have had this in my recipe box for quite a while and am really glad i finally made this. i followed the suggestions of the reviewers and stirred halfway through all of the cooking times. i have a 1000 watt microwave and i felt mine needed a total of 10 more mins and more chix broth after. i cant wait to make this again for the hubs because he loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
An excellent substitute for the stove. I wouldn't change a thing about the recipe, except maybe to double it. The leftovers are just as good. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I loved this recipe. I added about a teaspoon of lemon juice, used chicken stock, and a bit more cheese, probably double. It was definitely a little chewy but I liked it that way. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was o.k. but needs to be adjusted. First off, the risotto was not cooked enough with the times given and there was not near enough liquid to soak in. I will try this again but have to adjust with more liquid (I didn't have time when made the first time). I have to say the old fashioned, more difficult way definitely gets better results! This was not creamy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This is a very simple way to get a very tasty side dish. You don't have to think too much into it, just make it and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Cotati, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This was allright. I liked it, but my fiance didn't. I guess we are just spoiled being that we both make a MEAN homemade risotto :) For ease, you can't expect much (geez!).... I found Drasaid's directions to be spot on. I was a bit confused, though. I did not know what wattage microwave oven Drasaid used (mine was 850 watts) and also was unsure as to whether or not I was supposed to remove the lid during the last 10 minutes of cooking (i.e. when the wine was added), so I cooked for 5 minutes, checked, then microwaved for 5 minutes more as directed (you ARE supposed to remove the lid during the last step!). I ended up using slightly more than 1/4 cup of Parmesan (i.e. fancy shredded cheese - DON'T use the can stuff... yuck!) since I wanted to use up what I had on hand. I also added 1 cup of frozen (thawed) peas after everyting was mixed thoroughly. I could detect a slight hint of wine (my fiance did not). That is my only complaint. You should NEVER taste wine in your risotto; it should only be added to enhance. I also found Drasaid's risotto to be a bit creamy (almost gooey), but that can be easily fixed by adding more liquid or less cheese. Play around with this. Add veggies, meat, pinenuts - anything goes! This pairs especially well with Broiled Tilapia Parmesan by Phoebe (also on this site). Thanks for sharing such a quick, fun recipe Drasaid : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Very tasty, very quick and very easy. I stirred in a bit of half-and-half at the end and it was creamy and delicious! My two-year-old is currently scarfing down seconds, which tells you everything right there. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
It was easy and yummy! It's one of those recipes that will be different everytime I make it because I'll change it up everytime. I used ck broth and a small can of V8 juice for the liquids and used some frozen veggies. I didn't have any cream like one reviewer recommended, so I stirred in milk after I added the cheeses. I will definately be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Quick and easy and tasty, my kind of risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
delicious and easy are the two most important factors for me and this recipe has both of them. easy to change the recipe a little every time for what you feel like whether it's cheesier or some sun-dried tomatoes or vegetables. great recipe. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States