Basic Microwave Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Super easy compared to the alternative, but the flavor for this recipe isn't anything special. The consistency was right though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I love this recipe! Even when I'm tired and don't feel like cooking I can usually muster up the energy to throw this together. To make it extra easy I use dried minced onion, often add garlic, and apple juice instead of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Followed recipe exactly... seemed like endless microwaving, the flavor was odd. Not a fan. The texture of the rice was nice. I would try again but add a ton of extras like veggies and some flavor. But I wanted to try the recipe first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is just as good as making it over the stovetop! I did need additional broth (about 1/2 cup), which I just heated in the microwave before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I wanted to make this as-in and give it a fair rating, because I recently had risotto for the first time. It was at a cooking demonstration given by professional chefs and it was amazing. I bought the Arborio rice and had plans to make it today. However things didn't go as planned so I need a quick cooking method. I thought it was very good. Not as soft and creamy as I remember the other stuff but it had a bite to it that I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is the answer to our old fashioned risotto! I added some almond to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Made this for first time today (10-27-12). Sauteed onion, garlic (2 large cloves) and 8oz thinly sliced mushroom caps in butter. Heated the broth (I used chicken because I had an open container), added the vegetables and rice to the broth and followed the directions from that point on, adding the wine and cheese. It was easy (without all the incessant stirring) and my husband and I thought it was delicious. It was a side to broiled teriyaki salmon and Brussel sprouts. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This recipe is FABULOUS! I typically stir halfway through each cooking time and add a little more liquid, but it's so easy to be versatile with this! My family loves it, and it's a great alternative to tradtional risotto, with very similar results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This recipe sure had the "WOW" factor at a pot luck tonight! Friends were very impressed how well my first Risotto turned out. Then I told them it took less than 30 minutes to do in the microwave and they just couldn't believe it. I followed the recipe just about to the letter. Main difference, I precooked the onions and garlic for about 5-6 minutes. Then followed the recipe. I used chicken broth to for the little extra flavor. About 2 minute before the timer went off, I opened the lid to check the rice, felt it could be a bit moister, so I dumped the other 1/4 to 1/3 cup of left over chicken stock in and went about 3 more minutes. I think next time, I'll add some heavy cream to see what that does for the overall texture. All in all, this is a great keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I have to say... I was so scared to try this but I really wanted some Risotto and having a bad arm, the traditional way is not something I can do without hurting myself... So, I tried it!!! OMG!!! My family and I were shocked at how good it is!! I will be making this often... I didn't have to really modify anything since I only wanted a basic Risotto (my 13 yo won't eat a bunch of things)... the only thing I did a little different was to use extra broth in place of wine, just a 'splash' of cream at the end, and add more cheese (only cuz my family are cheese freaks. AWESOME.... THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States