Basic Microwave Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was really good. I cooked mine for quite a bit longer than the recipe called for, probably about 30 minutes from the point where you add the broth. (the rice was still uncooked in the center after the cooking times specified in the recipe). I continued to stir in more stock every 3-6 minutes until the rice was no longer hard in the middle. I also left the lid on because I didn't think that you want any liquid to boil off in a risotto, (don't you want it to absorb into the rice, making it more creamy?) I used chicken stock and added sundried tomatoes at the end and it turned out great. Can't wait to try this again with some different variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Love it. So easy. I took the other reviewers advice and added a little more cheese and some heavy cream. Works well with whatever veggies you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This recipe was easy but following the recipe gives less than desirable results. I followed others' suggestions and added the carmelized onions and garlic half way through the cooking. I had to cook this another 4 minutes to get it soft enough, and I would have cooked it another 2 or 3 with additional liquid if I had the time. Extra cheese for us too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Yep, this really does work. I am thrilled with the fact that I don't have to stand over a stove stirring for 30 minutes. I sauteed my onions and garlic separately and used chicken broth entirely. I did add the onions an garlic at the start with the rice. I kept the lid on for the last 10 minutes, stirred at 5 minutes and checked it with 2 minutes left on the timer and it was done. I stirred in the parm and grubbed. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: South Grafton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Wow! Thanks for another recipe we love that is simple to make too. I've made this twice in the last week. Only had White Zin the first time, much better the second time with Chardonnay. Also used chicken broth both times as my grocery is always out of vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This Dish is delicious. I did not change a thing except I used what I had, chicken both and it was fab. I am going to have fun experimenting with this recipe. Thanks sooo much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Note: If you are thinking of trying this with brown rice, let me save you the time. It doesn't work. I know brown rice takes more time but after more than 45 minutes I still couldn't get this to resemble risotto. I was anxious to try this with a brown rice to boost the nutrition but it came out more like a pilaf. Edible, but not risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was AWESOME! Cooked perfectly with no slaving over the stove! I even forgot to add the parmesan at the end, and it was still a wonderful risotto! I'm making it again and adding the cheese this time. I would imagine it only gets better with cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I really liked this! Next time I might increase the amount of stock (I used chicken) and decrease the amount of wine slightly. I used long-grain rice, and needed to cook it about 3 minutes longer. Could have been a bit creamier, but overall it was very tasty and I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Incredibly easy, and might even taste better when reheated the next day for lunch. Grape tomatoes make a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States