Basic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Esmee Williams
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
I have been looking for a recipe for good, old fashioned, mashed potatoes like mom used to make. This is it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
This recipe is really good, especially if you just want good ol'mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
Oh, my God! These are the best mashed potatoes that I have ever put in my mouth! I added cream cheese (half of one 8 oz pkg.) Let's just say, there are NO left-overs! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
Could not be easier or more tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
These were easy and oh, so yummy! I made mine with red potatoes with the skin. I suggest adding liquid to potatoes a little at a time as mine were too runny. No one cared, though - they were great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2001
I took a leaf from a previous review and added a package of cream cheese to this recipe. The result is nothing but delicious! It did take a LOT longer than the stated cook time for the potatoes to get soft enough to be able to mix them, though! I may cut back on the cream cheese next time, though, to make them a bit "healthier". I will NEVER make boxed taters again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
WONDERFUL! i like adding a clove of garlic, and using cold milk and butter to keep them from getting sweetened by heating in a pan. try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
very easy.......very good recipe for your basic mashed potatoes.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
My husband and I really liked this recipe. However, I boiled the potatoes longer so that they would be softer and I also added garlic powder to give them a little kick. I made them in the blender because I couldn't find the potato masher and it was really hard to get the potatoes out of the blender. But other than that, it was really simple. I would suggest adding a little milk at a time as to make sure its not so runny, which is what I did. It's hard to please my husband so I'll definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
I usually make instant potatoes but never again! These were so light and fluffy! I am a big fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALICIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Basic Mashed Potatoes

See how to make good old-fashioned mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States