Basic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Very good and very simple. The 1 cup of milk may seem, initially, to be too much but after folding the milk into the mashed potato mix, it will incorporate nicely and give a smooth texture to the mashed potato. With that much milk though, this recipe is not ideal for 'next day potato'.... i.e. should be eaten right away. Thanks and really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Exactly how I make my potatoes ... only I don't use an electric mixer, since they come out gummy when I do. I hand mash the potatoes, then stir in the melted butter & milk. Perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I was planning on making a different mashed potato recipe from this site, but my mom beat me to it and made mashed potatoes how she always makes them, basic and simple. Went very well with what we served it with, "Slow Cooker Cassoulet" from this site. I like basic mashed potatoes, reminds me of my child hood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Thank you for posting this recipe, i'd never made mashed potatoes and these we're really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was really great. I needed a basic recipe for my "basic" guys. They loved it. Thanks. This site doesn't need to be all about the fancy stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Delicious!!! Simple and easy, I have never though of warming up the milk and butter. Thanks Esmee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Yummy....basic...and great with meatloaf. I put the potatoes through my ricer for a more smooth texture. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I thought this was great as-is -- nice smooth consistency and not too fancy. Tasted great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JFIORELLO68

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I never thought of warming my milk and butter before. Good tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I almost thought it was going to be too much milk but it whipped in perfectly. I had to double the butter though, I love my butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Mashed Potatoes

See how to make good old-fashioned mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States