Basic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Good basic recipe - a bit too much milk for my liking. Just add a little at a time to get the right consistency for your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyJn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Fork, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Super quick and easy to follow, even for beginners! Will definitely record this one in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Very Good Recipe. I've made it 2x. As Syble suggested.. it's important to allow the potatoes to steam after they cook and before you mash them. I let them sit in the colander until they stopped letting off steam. Then the potatoes will readily absorb the milk. The second time I made them I boiled them in vegetable broth, and also added 1/4 cup cream cheese. Did think it improved the flavor in a very subtle way. Everyone one loved the recipe both times that I served it. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Excellent! And I agree that adding milk should be gradual instead of pouring all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotoMeMotoU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampshire, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
My husband loved this recipe! I didn't tweak the recipe at all. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Utica, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
this recipe made the PERFECT mashed potatoes!!!!!!!!!!!! I added seasoned salt to the boiling water so that the potatoes were even more flavorful. it was fantastic and creamy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby Kabachia
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Regular mashed patatoes. I added curd cheese to make it a GREAT mashed patatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Basic isn't the word for these mashed potatoes, they were perfect! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan Blackwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Be sure to add the milk a little at a time to get your desired consistency. If I would have added it all, they would have been way too thin. Just a matter of preference I suppose. Otherwise they were pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Very, very good mashed potatoes :-) I didn't follow the proportions exactly, but I judged how much I needed based on what the potatoes looked like. I also used heavy cream instead of milk, and added a sprinkle of fresh ground chili. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabet
Living In: Osnabrück, Niedersachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Basic Mashed Potatoes

See how to make good old-fashioned mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States