Basic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I have referred to this recipe for years, but never followed it exactly. I like to boil 1-2 cloves of garlic per pound of potatoes. Mash the potatoes with the garlic using a potato masher. Add the melted butter and milk slowly so you don't end up with soupy potatoes. I use 2x the butter and half the milk from this recipe. Add salt and pepper to taste. Once you have the flavor you like, use an electric beater until you get the consistency you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe and it was simple yet delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Not enough butter, too much milk. It is a good thing I poured things in slowly and realized that the consistency was fine after just over half the amount of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Wojtkowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Not a bad recipe, add 1 teaspoon of baking soda at the end and see how fluffy it becomes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin Engels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This is how I was taught to make mashed potatoes while growing up. Although I never heated the milk and butter. This makes a big difference in keeping the potatoes hot. I drained the potatoes once they got tender, set them back on the turned off stove burner (gas range) and added butter. Mashed them with a turned off electric mixer and began adding milk, turned on mixer and continued to add milk (maybe 1/2 cup) until desired consistency was reached and they were fluffy. This is a wonderful recipe for basic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pulaski, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jackson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I added a touch more butter, but if you've got good 'taters, all you need is a little milk, butter, salt'n pepper. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Easy to Cook and Well Elaborated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abdullah Khalid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
A lovely, simple method that produces delicious mashed potatoes every time! Only thing extra I do is throw in some chopped up chives to add a little bit of colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I added in shredded cheese and garlic salt it makes it so yummy and cheesy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra Crees

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is a very simple and comforting my family. I added mixed herbs as well to bring more flavor to it. Served them today with Roasted Garlic Herbs Drumstick. Tqvm from Malaysia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Mashed Potatoes

See how to make good old-fashioned mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States