Basic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
very easy recipe. works great. definitely the new "thanksgiving" mashed potato recipe at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Great basic recipe. If you're watching your calories etc, try substituting the potatoes starchy cooking water for most of the milk. After that, only a quick splash of milk is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
bit too bland for my family and I. Used evaporated milk and cream cheese, and it had a faint creamy sort of taste to it. Seemed just okay to me, dad took one little bite and said it was too plain. You definitely need to add more to this recipe, but its a good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
These were PERFECT!! EASY!! I'll be making them every holiday and more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Very delicious outcome. Thanks for the recipe. I can see how this can easily be "fancied up" with adding garlic, dry ranch dressing powder, cheese, etc. Glad to have a basic and tastey base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraColorado

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaimay7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albion, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Good basic recipe. Might be better with some rosemary or garlic. Also, I found them dry because I spread them out in a serving dish and put them in a warming drawer. Next time I will make these up just before eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I liked the idea of warming the milk and butter so I thought that I would give this recipe a try. Glad that I did, that potatoes were really creamy and this recipe opens the door to add any of your favorite flavorings. Next, I'll try to add some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Good recipe - warming the milk and butter does make a difference. I added some garlic cloves to the boiling potatoes and then mashed them with the potatoes to add more flavor. I think it would be a little bland for my family if I made it "as is." But, that is the beauty of a simple recipe, you can adjust to meet your family's preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shandy
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Great base for mashed potatoes. Used about six small russets to equal the 2 pounds, which was perfect for the amount of milk and butter it called for. Just eyeballed the amount of seasoning I wanted to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Mashed Potatoes

See how to make good old-fashioned mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States