Basic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Very good and yes basic, this is always how I prepared mashed potatoes, except we call them cream potatoes. I think just eyeballing your milk will help with the consistancy you may want, instead of just adding the whole cup of milk at once, everything kind of depends on the size of your potatoes. I think this will help so your outcome will not be soupy potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Sometimes the simplest recipes are the best! Smash the potatoes to mostly lump-free before adding the butter and milk. One thing I suggest doing differently is to add the butter to the potatoes first, then add heated milk as needed. That way you get all of the butter in the mashed potatoes and can add just the right amount of milk for the correct texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Good flavor. I used an extra T butter after I made them as I thought it needed it. I only used 3/4 milk that's all they needed. I didn't heat the water before adding potatoes, I just put the potatoes in the pan and added water to cover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Great basic recipe. I always struggled with mine until I stumbled upon this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Nothing great about these :? There just potatoes with milk and butter.. same as my mom has been making for froever and a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
very easy recipe. works great. definitely the new "thanksgiving" mashed potato recipe at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Great basic recipe. If you're watching your calories etc, try substituting the potatoes starchy cooking water for most of the milk. After that, only a quick splash of milk is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
bit too bland for my family and I. Used evaporated milk and cream cheese, and it had a faint creamy sort of taste to it. Seemed just okay to me, dad took one little bite and said it was too plain. You definitely need to add more to this recipe, but its a good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
These were PERFECT!! EASY!! I'll be making them every holiday and more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Very delicious outcome. Thanks for the recipe. I can see how this can easily be "fancied up" with adding garlic, dry ranch dressing powder, cheese, etc. Glad to have a basic and tastey base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraColorado

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Basic Mashed Potatoes

See how to make good old-fashioned mashed potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States